Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
The best cookies I have ever made, my whole family loved them. I just added some cream after they had been baked (milk and sugar mixed together untill creamy) and sprinkles to make it an official italian cookie. Made my mouth water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Perhaps I"ve done something wrong, since everyone says these are so good, but nobody who ate mine liked them. first off, I added far more flavoring than it calls for and they still were very bland. Second when i first made them I forgot the baking powder, and I almost think they were better hard, instead of soft. (with the baking powder.) Also, I can't understand why the recipe says to shape them in loops. All in all not a cookie I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeBeCrazyGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliciaVR6
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made these with 1tsp of anise and 1tsp of vanilla (instead of just vanilla), with icing made of 10x sugar and milk, sprinkled some of those colored ball things on it, they turned out PERFECT, just like my great aunts that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
LOVE IT!!! this was a good cookie to tell you the truth i was hesitant about making them i thought they would b eplain!!!A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Just like I remember! I've been yearning for this recipe for years. These cookies are perfect--lightly sweet, soft with just the right ammount of tooth. I made a glaze of powdered sugar, melted butter, milk, a wee pinch of salt, and vanilla. mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Just like my grandma makes. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
The only thing I do differently is that I add the juice and zest of one orange just before I add the flour. The orange adds a little bit of flavor to the cookie. You can also use lemon if you prefer, especially the juice in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Great, simple recipe. Sometimes we use lemon flavoring, sometimes anise. Our customers love these, and get upset with us if we run out of them. We make up a runny confection sugar glaze in a large bowl with 10x sugar, milk and flavoring. We dump a bunch of the cookies in, place them briefly on racks to drain most of the excess glaze, and then place them on wax paper sheets to dry. After a couple hours, we turn them over to let the bottom dry. Greeeaaattt cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This is exactly the recipe that has been in my family for over 100 years. There is one difference that could make this one the VERY BEST.....ADD ANICE instead of Vanilla.. Then you will Not think they are bland. Use a drop in the powdered sugar for the frosting as well. NOW they are the best..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
tHESE COOKIES ARE JUST SUPERB!!! THEY WERE EASY TO MAKE AND I JUST DROPPED THEM WITH A MELON BALLER ON THE GREASED COOKIE SHEET. THEY ARE LIGHT AND NOT TOO SWEET. GREAT WITH COFFEE OR STRONG TEA. JUST THE BEST ITALIAN RECIPE I HAVE EVER MADE. THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS WITH THE WORLD. WE LOVE YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States