Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Came out as expected, only I'd never use Anise again...most likely Vanilla in the future. Older members of the household enjoyed them, but was too licoricey for the younger crowd. Used powdered sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are a little bland even after adding extra vanilla (and cherry flavoring once )but the kids still seem to love them.It may be the colored sprinkles that attract them though. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Great !! We add a hershey drop to it and the kids love them !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
The best cookies I have ever made, my whole family loved them. I just added some cream after they had been baked (milk and sugar mixed together untill creamy) and sprinkles to make it an official italian cookie. Made my mouth water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Perhaps I"ve done something wrong, since everyone says these are so good, but nobody who ate mine liked them. first off, I added far more flavoring than it calls for and they still were very bland. Second when i first made them I forgot the baking powder, and I almost think they were better hard, instead of soft. (with the baking powder.) Also, I can't understand why the recipe says to shape them in loops. All in all not a cookie I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeBeCrazyGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliciaVR6
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made these with 1tsp of anise and 1tsp of vanilla (instead of just vanilla), with icing made of 10x sugar and milk, sprinkled some of those colored ball things on it, they turned out PERFECT, just like my great aunts that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
LOVE IT!!! this was a good cookie to tell you the truth i was hesitant about making them i thought they would b eplain!!!A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Just like I remember! I've been yearning for this recipe for years. These cookies are perfect--lightly sweet, soft with just the right ammount of tooth. I made a glaze of powdered sugar, melted butter, milk, a wee pinch of salt, and vanilla. mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Just like my grandma makes. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
The only thing I do differently is that I add the juice and zest of one orange just before I add the flour. The orange adds a little bit of flavor to the cookie. You can also use lemon if you prefer, especially the juice in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States