Italian Confetti Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
WARNING: DO NOT USE LOW FAT MAYONNAISE. I made it the first time with regular mayonnaise and it turned out to be the hit of the party! I couldn't find fresh basil so I even used dried. Then I decided to make it with low fat mayonnaise and it turned out horrible. Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Excellent. This is really a full 5 star recipe.... easy, pretty, and yummy. I followed the recipe, except I used white wine vinegar (since I was out of red). I'm perplexed as to why some reviewers thought there was too much mayo. I hate too much salad dressing (always order it on the side!), but this only had a light coating. I'm wondering whether those people didn't use enough pasta. It calls for 2 cups of DRY pasta, which is actually an entire box, I believe (the box I used had 16 oz dry rotelle). Anyway, it's the best pasta salad I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this salad for a baby shower I recently had and received great reviews for it. I used bow-tie pasta and added in blanched broccoli florets, seedless cucumbers, red, yellow, and green peppers as well as fresh Roma tomatoes. For the dressing, I used 1 cup of mayonnaise but added in about 3/4-1 cup of prepared zesty Italian dressing, along with the suggested ingredients. I too was afraid of the large amount of mayonnaise. Regardless, everything tasted great and it got better each day it was left-over. I would make it again because it was pretty looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
A little variation: Add red, orange and yellow bell pepper, diced; a can of drained pineapple chunks OR a cup of small seedless red grapes, halved. This adds a little sweet touch to the savory and despite how odd it sounds, is very good. Black olives, sliced green olives with pimentos, diced sauteed or fresh zucchini or yellow squash... This is a versatile, easy and festive side dish for a large gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Great pasta salad - perfect for any BBQ! Pasta salads are so easy and no matter what you add to them as long as the veggies are fresh, you use a good quality dressing, and it's chilled - it'll be wonderful. So add what you like. This recipe is a great base. I used a whole bunch of cherry tomatoes that I cut in half and added some red and green pepper along with the rest of the ingredients. For the "dressing" I added a little dried Italian seasoning. I also topped it with some shredded Parmesan and Romano cheeses - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
for all of the millions of pasta salad recipes out there, this is not one of the best. it contains a disgusting amount of mayonnaise, and tastes pretty boring and kind of gross. the best thing about it was all the pretty colors - i won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This was a great recipe!! I cooked it last night for the first time, and my best friend's husband who normally doesn't like pasta salads loved it!! I added cubes of Mozzeralla cheese to it, and my friend suggested adding boiled eggs next time as well. I used dried basil and garlic and it was still wonderful:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Pretty good salad...and everyone who tried this seemed to enjoy it. I'm not big on fresh basil so I could have done without it but the mayo/vinegar dressing was good. This did not have a lot of flavors in it. I used an orange bell pepper and added about 1/2 a jar of diced pimentos. I think the taste of the bell pepper dominated this dish. Hubby's not a pasta salad fan and my little ones didn't even try it. Probably won't make again unless the leftovers are to die for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
My daughter has declared this her new favorite pasta!! She ate two small bowls of it asking me to make it again tomorrow. I did half miracle whip, half mayo, since I had no olives or fresh tomatoes, I added some chopped celery, green bell pepper and a jar of diced pimentos. Great pasta salad or as my 6yr old daughter said "mom, this is exquisite" (where does she learn her vocab?). Yes, I'll be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Very easy to make, however, I would cut the salt to 1/2teaspoon or omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States