Italian Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Someone stated this recipe was NOT Italian. Ohhhhh it soo is!! I have been looking for it forever and should have, of course, come here first!! My Italian grandmother (from Sicily) used to make dozens of these every year and my Mom-in-law (holder of the recipe) lost it!! It's soo close (minus a dash of cinnamon!)Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Soooo delicious!!! My husband had an italian themed potluck to go to and gave me like 1 1/2 hrs notice about it. Due to my limited time I had to make a few adjustments. Instead of cocoa powder I used dark cocoa powder and I had run out of vanilla extract but had plenty of almond extract so I used that. They came out so good. I also used the almond extract in the frosting, every one loved the almond flavor with the chocolate and I am sure that the vanilla would have been just as good. Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
These are great. The only things I did slightly different are toasting the nuts (it makes a huge difference in both taste and texture), and rather than dribbling the glaze on the finished cookies, I dipped the tops in the bowl of glaze and then set them on parchment paper to firm up. Less waste and mess this way. I think next time I may sprinkle some more finely chopped toasted nuts on top of the glaze, just for looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missy1979
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Great little treats! You need to work fast with the chocolate frosting while it is warm but yummmm it is worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
Delicious!! We gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DUALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
THese were ok. I think they could have been better but perhaps I screwed it up by using the mixer (toughened the dough). Next time I'll just use my hands. I was disappointed because I was really looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Amazing recipe! I leave out the cocoa powder so it's like a regular chocolate chip cookie, but with more of a scone-like texture. I pull them out of the oven and they dissappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Delicious! I added 1/2 of a maraschino cherry to the center of each ball- made for a moist center and 'chocolate covered cherry' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is definately an Italian recipe. My grandmother and grandfather came to the United States from Palarmo, Sicily and I remember her making these cookies before the Christmas holiday. She came me the recipe but I had lost it long ago and I have been looking for it for years. I do remember that a little bourbon was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Oh my gosh, I am so excited about this! I had almost this very cookie at a shop in Lugano, Switzerland and in this other little Italian eatery. The only obvious difference was that each cookie was wrapped around a whole toasted hazelnut or almond in the European version. Nonni adores these! Great recipe! Definitely Italiano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fountaintown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States