Italian Chicken with Pesto Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
KILLER. The only change I made was to use two slices of prosciutto per chicken breast, since one wasn't really cutting it. Plus, hey, more delicious prosciutto. Win/win. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Excellent! Added Dijon. Mustard and garlic to the vinegar, marinated chicken in vinegar, garlic and Dijon mustard 1 hour. Would not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was a wonderful dish! I did change a few things though. I marinated the chicken for 4 hours in olive oil, red wine vinegar, lemon juice, garlic, basil, and oregano. I also added seasoning to the cheese (I used shredded b/c that was all I had). The balsamic reduction really makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I love the fact that it has such a small amount of ingrediants. Some of which can be found in a backyard garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I pounded the breasts flat and then sliced a pocket into them. Take the time to make the balsamic vinegar reduction! You can do it earlier in the day and just set it on the counter until suppertime. The dish definitely wouldn't be the same without it. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe with our personal modifications based on other reviews. Dressed up the balsamic vinegar reduction with 1 tbsp. each brown sugar, minced garlic and dijon mustard. Lined flattened chicken breast with fresh basil leaves and marinated roasted red peppers. Also used mozzerella cheese sticks instead of shredded cheese that way it didn't ooze out the sides of the rolled chicken. Used prosciutto too.Sprinkled minced garlic on top of chicken and cherry tomatoes along with the EVOO and s/p. Covered dish for first 15 mins. Buttered potatoes first and then pesto. With the conversions, we really enjoyed this dish. Your inspiration though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
The chicken recipe is fantastic!!! we didn't love the potatoes but live and learn. The suggestions to add prosciutto and portabellos was excellent. I followed the Balsamic Vinegar suggestions too. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Excellent tasty meal. Even easy to prepare !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Delicious! I used prosciutto to wrap the chicken. I also covered the chicken while it cooked and it came out so moist because of the juice from the tomatoes. I broiled the chicken for a few minutes to brown the ham and get it somewhat crispy. I accidentally over cooked my potatoes, so they ended up getting mashed. I didn't have pesto around, so I added milk, some italian seasonings, and Parmesean cheese instead. All in all this was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was really, really good. To the balsamic vinegar I added about a tablespoon of brown sugar, some minced garlic, some dijon mustard and a splash of hot sauce, just to give it some complexity. When I stuffed the chicken with the cheese, I added a schmear of minced garlic and one basil leaf for extra flavor. Before putting the chicken and tomatoes (which were wonderful, BTW) in the oven, I drizzled a little of the finished balsamic sauce and sprinkled a touch of mozzarella over the top. The recipe didn't say whether to cook the chicken covered or uncovered, so I covered it for the first 15 minutes, then removed the cover. The potatoes were terrific too. I had picked up some really tiny potatoes (about the size of large marbles) and they worked perfectly for this dish. Bottled pesto sauce was pretty expensive at the store, so I made my own. The combination of the sharp snap of the potato skins when I bit into them mixed with the great garlicky pesto was just lovely. This dish made an enticing presentation and is certainly company worthy. DH and I both loved this dish. I can't say enough good things about it. Thanks, Paula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States