Italian Chicken with Garlic and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2000
Great recipe - simple to put together, and the potatoes can be made in advance. The kids loved it! The adults thought it was great - especially the potatoes on top. The only thing I would change is to sprinkle the onion and garlic on top of the chicken, top with the potatoes, then pour the liquid over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
pan fried the potatoes with less oil .excellent flavors.will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I scaled this recipe down to serve four. I used drumsticks instead of thighs, as that is what I had on hand, and I omitted the potatoes. I found this recipe to be savory and sour. I added more garlic to the mix and would probably use less oil next time. The garlicky aftertaste is good too. I also needed to cook it longer than stated. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Thank you for a great and very interesting recipe! I tried this for sinner today and it was a complete success! The potatoes were so yummy, with such a wonderful lemony flavour! I did a few changes though, I was out of thighs so I used breast, but I will definitely tried with thighs next time. I find breast a little too dry! I pre-fried the chicken in olive oil first so it was nice and brown and then deglazed the pan with white wine which I used instead of the vinegar call in the recipe since my husband doesn't care for vinegar at all. I also used fresh oregano, thyme and parsley instead of the dry staff since I had it at hand. It took time to get everything ready, but it was well worth it! This will be one of our favourite Sunday meals for now on! Once again, THANK YOU KINDLY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Very good flavors, good company food. The only thing I would comment on is that frying the potatoes until golden, then putting them in the oven is too long a cooking time in my opinion, I thought the result would be mushy so I didn't fry until golden, just a few minutes. They turned out lovely. The kids didn't care for this one, otherwise it's a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I could tell from the get-go that this was going to be amazing!Beautiful presentation and amazing aroma while cooking,it's one of the easiest,most delicious meals I've made!Hubby had to have seconds right away,and he rarely does!5 STARS! More people need to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I'd put the herb mixture under the skin next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Very good. The only thing I did differently was to use less oil...trying to be health conscience. The taste and flavor was wonderful, and my house smelled great too. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Yummy Yummy! Everyone you have to try this! This recipe was outstanding and so easy. I have been trying to find a recipe like this to duplicate my grandfathers, and this turned out to be a pleasant surprise. It was so easy to make especially for a new bride! Haha The aroma that filled the air made your mouth begin to water. The potatoes were a bit of a pain to fry. They did become a bit mushy. I would probably fry lightly and then put in the oven to bake till golden. Great Job Peter! Thanks for bringing back my grandfather in a sense! Jamee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I made the Italian chicken with garlic and lemon and i give it 5 stars. It was a big hit with my family. Even one of my kids that is a very picky eater liked the chicken so much she asked for seconds. Delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States