Italian Chicken with Garlic and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
We love this recipe, it is one that we make a couple of times a month. Only changes is I use boneless, skinless breasts and a pinch of sugar in the sauce. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
ADDENDUM Feb 27/08: Based on the prep instructions suggested by chef Anel on May 11, 2006, I have changed the rating of this recipe to 5 stars. Following those instructions, this recipe turns out perfect every time now. I keep coming back to this recipe - it is now a family favorite! Original review: For aroma this dish gets a 4 - it smelled fantastic while cooking. For texture, flavor and appearance, the finished dish gets a 2 (I averaged out the rating to an overall of 3). I'm glad I tried this recipe, but probably will not make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I made this tonight for my family and it was a hit! I did change a couple of things though (just to suit my families taste better)I omitted the wine vinegar and just used white wine. Also, I added a pinch of chili powder and paprika to my sauce mixture that really woke up the flavor without making it hot. I then took someone else's advise from another review and took a dry package of the italian salad dressing mix (sorry forgot brand)and sprinkled it over the top of the potatoes and chicken thighs. My family thought it was great! Thanks again for the great recipe Peter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This might be my new favorite of all time!!! What a delicious meal! I used skinless, boneless breast and baked at 375 for 30 mins. and we had INCREDIBLE results!!!!!!! I want to make it again tomorrow!! I used plain old Italian seasoning and I used less than the recipe called for (based on another reviewer's suggestion), but next time I'm going to use the full amount, it was a tantalizing tease not to use the full amount!!!! (I'm a Jersey girl who knows real and GOOD Italian) YUM!!!!!!!!!!!! I only used as much oil as the potatoes needed to fry to a nice crispy outside. Plus, I made sure to get the potatoes on top of the chicken so that they would stay crispy as it all cooked. This is a delicious dinner! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
We really didn't like the combination of vinegar and potatoes. The acidity/flavor was too pungent for us. It's a matter of personal preference: my mother would have liked it. She used potatoes with vinegar, also worceshire sauce. Without the vinegar, we would probably have loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Garlic/Lemon sauce had a nice vinegar taste, but on the whole this dish was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I did not enjoy this - the spices were way too overpowering. I could not taste the garlic or the lemon. If I were to make this at all- I would cut down the amount of dried parsley and oregano to only 1/4 of what the recipe calls for. The underside of the chicken was good because it had little to no spices on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Looking for a good recipe that my PICKEY family would eat using thighs. They all ate and asked for more---and not just for the potatoes. I followed the recipe except I decresed the lemon by half, added italian seasoning to the sauce instead of the parsley and fried the potatoes for the first 30 min while the chicken baked. I then added them on top and continued to baste. I did salt them before I added them. Thanks for all of the comments before. They really helped to make this dish my families new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Aiono

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This smelled really lovely while it was cooking, but I did not care for the flavor. I'm afraid I'm one of those who won't be cooking potatoes with lemon and vinegar again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States