Italian Chicken with Garlic and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I was determined to make this recipe as written because I didn't have the time for the researching of all the changes all the cooks did. The vinegar and lemon together made the dish sour and the extra cooking oil that is poured over the top of the chicken and potatoes before cooking made the dish unbearably greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is one of my favorite chicken recipes ever! The flavors are just Perfect, I use Red Wine Vinegar with the Lemon & it's just Superb! I also use the little chicken tenderloins, instead of thighs & if you just give them a quick pan sear..they get some color & don't look so yuck once they've cooked!! This is an A+++ recipe for sure! I would use that mixture to roast/grill some veggies too....yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe except for the appearance. it needs some color which should be easy to correct. My husband is sick of chicken, but loved this. i used balsamic vinegar by mistake and loved it. i can't compare to regular wine vinegar. i'm yet to figure out what to do with the potatoes. i fried them, as directed, but then they got mushy (and delicious) anyway so it seemed like a waste of time. i think next time, i'll either put them in raw or parboil them. one of the reviewers said sweet potatoes were good, too. if you cut out the potato frying, the prep is much simpler and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
My family really liked this chicken recipe. I roasted the potatoes instead of frying, added only half the oil that was required and added zest because I didn't have enough lemons for juicing. I halved the recipe and it worked out great. I found that basting throughout cooking is necessary for the success of this recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is a new favorite in my house. Some of the reviews reduced the amount of lemon...but I thought it was PERFECT! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Made this a couple times with 1/4 oil, Really Good! Last time used 1/4 cup each rice vinegar, sesame oil, soy sauce, and lemon juice and 2 Tbls tarragon and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This dish is a little labor intensive but well worth it. I made it for my family, including my very fussy MIL, and everyone loved it. If you make a big batch as called for in the recipe it would surely work well for a party. This may not make it into my regular rotation but it's definitely a keeper for when I have a little extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
It was really good. This was the first meal I made for my husband, and he loved it. I just had a mixed up and I used cooking wine insted ot wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I really like the flavors of this, but I did tweak it a little- I used fresh oregano and parsley- it's worth it! Also, I didn't fry the potatoes, that was a little too unhealthy for us- I put potato chunks (with skins) in the pan uncooked, and let them absorb the flavors of the dish. Soooo tasty without the extra fat and calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I love this recipe! I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut in half that I marinade in the sauce combo (Minus the oil) before baking. As other reviewers have said it is best to pile the potatoes on top so they don't get soggy. I also use baby red potatoes with this, their bitterness paired with the vinegar really works for me. The only reason I gave it four stars is because my husband complains about the vinegar smell EVERY time I make this. He thinks something electrical is burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Commerce City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States