Italian Chicken Sausage Stuffed Portabellas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Mixed reviews in this house. Unlike Hubs, who called this "gushy mush," I kind of liked it and prefer to simply call it "creamy." While I liked this, I do still have criticisms of my own - with no seasoning I could see where this would be just flat tasting "gush." To circumvent that I used Italian sausage and added freshly ground pepper, sauteed garlic, shallots (onion would have been fine too) fresh parsley and chopped, roasted red pepper. These additions lent color, flavor and texture and easily elevated this to 4-stars. In keeping with our individual and opposite assessments, I ate twice as much of these as Hubs, mostly when he wasn't looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious! Be sure not to put too much sausage mixture on the mushrooms because it becomes too rich. I just sprayed the portabella caps with pan spray instead of brushing with olive oil. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was great! I used baby portabellas, half the cream cheese, added some peppers and did it all on the range. We ate this in tortillas (because I had some that needed to be used up), but it's also great by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We a huge mushroom lovers so I had to try this. This recipe was fantastic, very easy to make and VERY yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firefighterwife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
mine was kinda mushy... not so tastey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curtiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Loved them! Followed the recipe exactly. Very easy, very good. Might try a spicier sausage next time. But this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made the Al Fresco portabellas today for lunch. I made some substitutions to make them lower in fat and they were tasty! I used Laughing Cow cream cheese and fresh chives. I also omitted all the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Wow! Amazing recipe and very easy to make! I used fat free cream cheese because I am dieting . . . but it was still so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
These are really good! I didn't use portabellas, I used large criminis and served everyone 3 each. I didn't use the onion & chive cream cheese, either. I grated up 1/4 of an onion, 2 cloves garlic and snipped in my own fresh chives from my garden. I topped with an Italian cheese blend. These took about 1 minutes at 375 degrees before they were done to my liking. I'll make this recipe again. Thanks, al fresco...every one of the recipes that I have tried using your chicken sausage has been absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this recipe with large cremini mushrooms since I felt the portabellas would be wasted. Only 1 other person in my house likes mushrooms. I think the creminis worked better anyway and they're not as expensive. I didn't have the cream cheese spread so made it myself with 1/2 of the cream cheese and added basil, oregano, and garlic. I chopped the cremini stems and sauteed them with the sausage (1/2 the ammt also) I find if u skin the sausage b4 browning, it isn't as chewy. I added green onions as I didn't have chives. The texture was too creamy for me so I added some Italian dry bread crumbs, which helped improve the texture and flavor alot. After these changes..they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States