Italian Chicken Sausage Stuffed Portabellas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Beckie
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
These were unbelievably easy to put together and very flavorful considering it had so few ingredients. 8 minutes was the perfect cooking time for my large portabella caps. In future, I think I would make this using the small portabello mushrooms for a smaller bite. The filling is very rich due the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I knew before I ever made this recipe that it would be 5-star-worthy! I absolutely love these! The flavors of the chive & onion cream cheese and the Italian sausage meld together so well. I also love the touch of the grated parmesan chees on top to give it that little bit of crispy topping. The ONLY thing I did to this recipe is I sauted up a little bit of chopped celery and red onion because I was trying to clean them out of my refridgerator and I thought a little crunch couldn't hurt. The results are simply delicious and I am sure that these would be just as good without my additions. Al Fresco chicken sausages are, IMHO, the best sausages on the market today. I just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I just LOVED this! The flavor combination is delicious and it's incredibly quick and easy to put together. I'll definitely be making this again. Al Fresco has become one of my favorite "convenience" foods and I like that it's all natural. Thanks for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We thought these were delicious! I had smaller (stuufing size) portabella mushrooms that had stems, so I followed another reviewer and chopped them fine and added them in the pan w/ the sausage, along with some finely chopped onion. I seasoned it all w/ garlic powder, salt and pepper and allowed it to cool to room temp before mixing it w/ the cream cheese. I could not find the al-fresco Italian chicken sausage in my store, so I just used the store brand chicken sausage. Hubby said that he would request these, so that makes them a winner in my book! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made several changes - but mostly with amounts. I used the Andioulle Sausage since that is what I had on hand. I felt it would have more kick to it anyway than the regular sweet sausage. I think the buffalo sausage would be a great switch up too, with a little franks added to the cream cheese mixture. I ended up using only 1 sausage and sauteed some of the mushroom stems with the sausage. I sprinkled the tops with a little panko before baking to give it a little "crunch" They were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made this last night and thought it was awesome. The Alfresco sausage had just the right snap to it. The only thing I would be more careful next time is drying out the mushrooms more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
These were really good! And they were very simple to make. I used turkey italian sausage, because the Al Fresco brand wasn't available where I live, but they were yummy. Next time though, I will add more of the cream cheese spread with onion and chives into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
What an impressive recipe! These mushrooms taste like they took a lot more work than they really did! Super quick to make. This was my first time trying the Al Fresco italian sausage and I'll definitely be buying it again. Makes a great last minute appetizer when unexpected guests pop in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Jruiz26
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very easy & quick recipe, makes a great lunch or side dish. I added mozzarella to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this recipe with large cremini mushrooms since I felt the portabellas would be wasted. Only 1 other person in my house likes mushrooms. I think the creminis worked better anyway and they're not as expensive. I didn't have the cream cheese spread so made it myself with 1/2 of the cream cheese and added basil, oregano, and garlic. I chopped the cremini stems and sauteed them with the sausage (1/2 the ammt also) I find if u skin the sausage b4 browning, it isn't as chewy. I added green onions as I didn't have chives. The texture was too creamy for me so I added some Italian dry bread crumbs, which helped improve the texture and flavor alot. After these changes..they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States