Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Nice simple intro to risotto if you're intimidated by it (like I was for years). Coincidentally, one box of Pacific Organic Chicken Broth equals three and one half cups... how convenient! I subbed fresh limas for the peas (and added them after the first 3 c. of broth but before the additional broth), and added a couple Tbsp. of butter just before adding the rice for a nuttier flavor. This was SOOOO GOOD! Takes a little time (closer to an hour for me) but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I was the "hovering" chef while my 19-year-old made this (in the past 2 months she's decided to cook every chance she can get). Not only was it SOOO GOOD, I'm SOOO PROUD of her for a great effort. As usual, a lot of stirring with risotto but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made this using mild italian sausage since that's what I had in the freezer. Very easy and very delicious. Glad I found this recipe. I also stirred in 2 tablespoons of butter at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jebra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
i made this last night, it was very very yummy. it was my first time making risotto and i thought it was very easy. i didnt add the parm cheese, bf has dairy issues, but still very wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Oh my gosh! So good! I didn't have risotto, so I just used regular rice. I used fresh basil and rosemary and included some chopped bell peppers with the onion. MMMMMM! I'd definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
We all loved this. The recipe didn't state how much parmesan. We stirred in about 1/2 cup total, I think, and we didn't pass any extra because we're on a low-sodium diet. We all loved this dish. I served it with a spinach salad with strawberries and blueberries. Great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
4 to 4.5 taste 4 ease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed this dish, and not just because I was drinking the rest of the bottle after adding the wine to the dish! I was a risotto rookie and have been scared to try it. However a package of chicken sausage about to go bad in my fridge forced my fears away and I'm so glad it did! Creamy and delicious and awesome - all three words to describe this dish. My husband was skeptical and informed me that he would just "eat his leftover pizza from lunch" instead of my risotto but one bite won him over. I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of the frozen peas. I could have sworn I had some, but when I opened the freezer I was met with spinach or broccoli. I chose broccoli and it turned out wonderfully. Next time I'll be using the peas, though. Great recipe and it reheats well. I will be making this again (and not just to use up the rest of my arborio rice!) UPDATE: I made this again last night and loved it even more! I didn't have any wine in the house, so I just used mostly chicken broth with a bit of water at the end when I ran out of chicken broth. My husband LOVED it! Chicken sausage is frequently on sale (plus I usually have a coupon) so I plan on keeping the ingredients around for a quick weeknight meal recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I used this loosly: garlic instead of ginger, regular rice, 1/3 cup cream towards the end, and a can of diced tomatoes in stead of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Simply delicious! I used the Sundried Tomato sausage because the my grocery store was out of the Sweet Italian, and it was still very good! Looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States