Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used uncooked Sweet Italian Chicken sausage and omitted the oil. I also used about twice the amount of thyme that was called for (it might have helped to read the amount before automatically using one teaspoon) and it turned out great. We loved this recipe, and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jordan Riedinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena, Kansas, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Everyone in my house liked it but we all felt it lacked enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was a great easy recipe for risotto...I was intimidated to make this but I made it and it was a hit!!! I did not have wine so I replaced it with 1 cup of chicken stock. I also added 1 tb of butter and 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese even more creaminess. When I make it again I would not add as much chicken sausage and up the rice quantity. I will def be making this again and possibly with different meats and veggies added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
this was such a fabulously fresh and different dinner for my family tonight! i made changes that suit our tastes better, including to nix the peas and i used all chicken broth because i don't have wine in the house. i also mixed in a half cup of parm at the end, didn't put any additional cheese on top - the directions/ingredient list needs to be fixed, as written it's incomplete. but all in all this was a really great tasting risotto, very easy to make, and mild enough of a flavor for my kids to enjoy, but still tasty enough for the adults too. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I decided to take a stab at risotto for the first time on a whim, and this turned out delicious! I used sun-dried tomato chicken sausage from Trader Joe's instead, which gave it a very nice flavor. My husband loved it too and this will definitely be saved as a recipe to try again. One thing I would mention is that it took longer than 15 minutes for the 3 cups of chicken broth to be absorbed, and when it finally was, it was tender and creamy enough that I didn't need to add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Holy smokes! This was absolutely fabulous. I was always a little afraid to try cooking a risotto, but this one was easy and the results were unbelievable. I subbed Bob Evans Italian ground sausage because that's what I could find and it was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HolidayRobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Tasty recipe. I didn't have chicken sausage so I used chicken breast and added some sausage seasonings and it was still great. The risotto didn't do as nicely cooking with the meat so next time I'll do them separately and mix them together at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This like any risotto is delicious. I also added some granny smith apple for a little punch and it was great! Used some skinless apple chicken sausage and it held up well. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is a good and easy Risotto recipe; if you have never attempted Risotto before start here. 15 minutes to cook the Arborio rice is probably not enough, you need all the liquid absorbed and the rice to be al dente. To get that creamy texture closer to 25 minutes worked for me, don't rush it. I would also suggest breaking up the sausage so that the pieces are just a little bigger than pea size. Enjoy. Now go try some of the other delicious Risotto recipes on allrecipes.com because I know you will be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I found this recipe to be a great change, I usually just make plain risotto...nothing fancy. Upon reading other reviews, some people had trouble with the consistency of the risotto. One thing I have learned in making risotto, is that you need to take it slow, add only about a cup of liquid at a time at a low simmer. When that cup is almost fully absorbed, taste and then add another...continue taste before adding more liquid to test the "doneness" (not a word I know) of the rice. Stir often, and add liquid until the rice is nice and soft. I think the only problem with this recipe is that for novice risotto makers, they may find themselves with mush or partially done rice. I basically followed the recipe...although I am not sure how much broth I ended up putting in, as like I said, I taste and add accordingly. I did use frozen peas and carrots, as I didn't have just the peas...used a cup of cooking sherry for the wine. I am sure this would be great with mushrooms added too. Hubby and Kids (2 & 4) loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States