Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Loved this risotto. I didn't use the wine just all chicken stock and it turned out great. I had my chicken stock in a separate pan on the stove and added it hot into my risotto pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Excellent simple risotto. I had to jazz it up to our taste with extra garlic and onion and some saffron. Yummy satisfying and rich! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
A hit with the whole family! Recipe unclear. Parmesan cheese isn't even in the ingredients list and it says put 1/4 up in at one point and the remainder at the end. Ended up just adding another 1/4 cup and it was great : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Some very important things to keep in mind when making this recipe, to make it as delicious as possible:) 1. Do NOT use regular rice. You must use risotta rice. It kind of defeats the purpose of the recipe if you don't. Risotta rice is denser and more pasta like than regular rice. It's delicious! You'll be happy you did. 2. Make sure the wine is almost fully absorded before moving on. 3. The broth portion of this recipe takes about 30-40 minutes. You should heat the broth on low in a separate pan and add 1/2 cup at a time and stir until is absorbed. This is what makes the rice so flavorful. 4. Use FRESH parm, not the jarred stuff, about a 1/2 cup to full cup. Yummers! 4. Upon completing this, the one thing I would do different is either grill or really brown my sausage before adding it in, I think this would make for a much nicer flavor. I make risotta all the time, tonight I had this chicken sausage on my hands and didn't know what to do with it. Came across this recipe and was thrilled for the suggestion. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Due to the availability of the fresh sausage in my area I substituted fully cooked Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage. I browned them in the pan before thinly slicing and quartering the sausage. I continued on with the rest of the recipe as is using orzo in place of Aborio rice and adding the sausage back in when the orzo was done. I do have to say, though, that 15 minutes cooking time is a tad too long for orzo. I am glad I read the directions before starting or I may have missed the parmesan and parsley. I used freshly grated parmesan cheese as well as fresh parsley. This was good but not sure if I would make it again using the saugage - maybe without. Love the ease of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING!!! Even my super-picky 6 year old loved it. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I just upped the chicken broth. The parmesan cheese listed in the recipe isn't in the ingredients, but I just stirred in 1/2 cup with peas. So, SO good. Will definitely make again and again and recommend to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I couldn't find the raw Italian chicken sausage, so I used the sundried tomato and basil one. Being that it was already cooked it required less cookin time..so if I make this again and use the same sausage, I would brown and then add it back in the risotto the last 10 minutes. I added a little pepper and italian seasoning, fresh parsley to the risotto at the last. Served wiith parmesan, it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
We really weren't blown away with this. It was OK, but won't make our regular rotation. Like others, it was my first time making risotto and I was intimidated, but followed the recipe (except for timing - mine took about 45 minutes) and the consistency was right on. We definitely liked the Al Fresco sausages and will use them again, just not for this recipe. - Oh, and there's no mention of Parmesan or Parsley in the ingredient list, so don't forget them when you make your grocery list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Having cooked risotto for years (first learnt in High school) I thought this recipe was just average. I did add a few mushrooms and some sweetcorn to the dish. The sausages I find are not really to my families likeing, the consistancy is so unlike a regular sausage. Glad I tried this recipe, just not sure I will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Kitchenista Jane
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was very easy to prepare. I enjoyed the flavor of it, and using the white wine in addition to chicken stock was really enhancing. I used Orzo on hand and it cooked just the same. I also served it with tomato slices, feeling that a bit more color was needed. LOVE the chicken sausage in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenista Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pine, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States