Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very good risotto! I played with it a bit, though: I made it vegetarian by using lentils instead of sausage and using vegetable broth; I used brown rice (which meant longer simmering time, of course) and peas and carrots instead of just peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and we thought it was okay. It was my first attempt at risotto, and it turned out nice and creamy, but the flavor seemed to be lacking. Also the addition of peas tasted a bit strange to us. I won't make it again, but I will look for another risotto recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was so yummy. I made it the way I first learned: add a cup of liquid at a time, stirring constantly until absorbed, for the total amount of liquid used(4.5 cups combined wine and broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I subbed the garlic chicken sausage since that is what my local store carried and I think it was great in this. Risotto typically takes a little more time to absorb the liquid and get nice and creamy so you may need to add about 20 minutes or so to the cooking time. It's better if you don't rush it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was so yummy! I am just getting into cooking risotto. I have actually had it for the first time about a month ago and made it myself, my family is loving it! Will use this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I've seen risotto made on TV many times but had never made it or eaten it. I love rice. But this recipe did nothing for me. I'm not sure what all the excitement is all about. I won't be making this again. I did not alter the recipe at all except to cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This made a delicious lunch for me! I cut it down in size quite a bit because only two of us were going to eat this, and I did leave out the peas (personal preference). I did cut the sausage into smaller pieces. This is an easy way to learn how to use arborio rice, as its consistency is quite different from the other types. I'd recommend this for anyone who likes sausage in a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Yum! I made this for lunch today and it blew me away! I followed the recipe to a T, with the exception of leaving out the peas (since I'm not a fan). I will be making this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was much better than expected! Although, I used the Garlic & Herb Chicken Sausage because my husband doesn't care for the Sweet Italian Chicken because of its strong fennel flavor. I only used half the wine, and used homemade chicken stock instead of commercial broth. Just a note, this makes good-sized portions. I made half the recipe with just 2 sausages and we had it as a main dish with green salad, but if you want to make it as a side dish you could stretch the portions perhaps twice as far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Delicious recipe. I used regular long-grain rice and I left out the thyme, but it didn't make a difference. Great combination of ingredients. My favorite risotto recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States