Italian Chicken Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I think this soup is wonderful! It is very easy to make with ingredients that most people always have on hand. Sometimes i make this soup as is, but other times i add carrots and zucchini and what ever other veggies i have in the fridge. I also do half rice and half wild rice and it comes out perfect every time. In the winter this is a go to meal that i make up in a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Can you eat this...yes. But honestly, it is nothing special and not all that yummm. Everyone ate it but out of everything I've tried this didn't disappear like other meals. What is this? Tomato soup and rice with a bit of chicken in it. The issues? Bland Tomato soup and not enough chicken. Do I recommend it? Only if you are a budget and want something quick and easy. Other than that, skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
What a great way to reinvent pork cacciatore leftovers (I obviously used pork instead of chicken). I didn't have any fresh parsley so I subbed fresh basil from the garden and it really added great flavor. I recommend it if you have any. I waited until the end to add brown rice and freshly grated asiago because I didn't want the leftovers to have mushy rice. I will make this again next time I have leftover cacciatore with the addition of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Very good! I added fresh basil and extra chicken. Also added a can of chopped tomatoes with garlic and olive oil. I should have topped with parmesan or mozzarella cheese. I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was good. I used gnocchi instead of rice and added more italian seasoning and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years. I actually found this in a Taste of Home magazine and they added 1/4 tsp more thyme. This soup is fast, easy and tasty. It is also extremely versatile. I will add a large can of chicken when I am in a hurry. I have used brown instant rice when I am in a pinch. This soup has everything I have on hand. I often will cook an entire bag of brown rice and freeze it in 2 cup baggies. When I make this soup, I toss in the chicken and the frozen rice let it simmer and voila Serve it with garlic bread and salad it is a complete meal. Try adding garbonzo beans as well. You can't go wrong with this tasty little soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My boyfriend loved this, he even had seconds. It only made about 6 servings for us. I used fat free/low sodium chicken broth, brown rice, and Splenda to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was an excellent base, but when I first made it I thought it needed something more. I sauteed one diced onion in olive oil for approximately 5 minutes. To this I added the uncooked cubed chicken (2 breast halves) and 2 minced garlic cloves, stirring to sear the chicken. To the chicken mixture I added 4 cups of chicken broth, a 32-ounce jar of quality tomato-basil pasta sauce, a quartered and sliced zucchini, the parsley and thyme. Upon boiling, I reduced the heat and simmered, uncovered for 10 minutes then added approximately 2 cups of a rice side dish that was left-over from a previous meal. This was simmered until heated through. I topped each bowl with freshly grated Parmesan cheese prior to serving. My husband proclaimed it a definite keeper! Thank you for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Since there is just two of us, I halved the recipe and froze what we didn't eat. Just make sure you use a good jar of paste sauce. They all aren't the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
It was easy to make. I added sausage and mushrooms to the soup to make it more filling. I like the recipe and i will make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States