Italian Chicken and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mama Rho
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made no changes to this recipe! I felt that if someone's grandma made it every year for a holiday, it deserved that much respect! God bless you! It was amazing! Thank you for sharing! Change up the spice content, if needed, but it was perfect for our family. It is now in my recipe box and will be used time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My husband and kids love this receipe! I did omit the red peppers and used less cayene pepper as my kids are fairly young, but other than that it was delicious and very easy to make. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Love this recipe, but it was WAAAAY to spicy for my family. I now leave out the cayenne pepper and use half the recommended amount of red pepper. When we don't have any tomato sauce I use a can of diced tomatoes. Still very good with this variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
maybe on the east coast garbanzo beans are more tender than they are here in CA.. or maybe that's why we only put them in our salads.. go fig.. i felt like they should have been cooked longer rather than just heated.. unlike most everyone i enjoyed the spiciness & the herb blend was totally on it.. i dont like my marina sauces sweet so instead i added seasoned salt.. seemed a lil on the dry side to me.. maybe i did something wrong b/c all the pics look pretty saucy to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I love this recipe and so does my hubby! I use chicken thighs instead of breasts because they turn out moister and my hubby likes them better than breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I cut down on the cayenne and red pepper flakes and it was still spicy enough (just right). I served this with a pumpkin risotto (oven baked; found recipe by searching online).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Tasty dish but if children are going to eat this dish reduce the spice by at least half. Super spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I LOVED this meal. I would rate it 5 stars BUT the amount of spice is far too high. I'm a big fan of spicy but I cut the cayenne & red pepper flakes in half and it still had quite the kick. I would definitely recommend this and will be cooking again, just with about 1/2 the spice. I served with a small side of pasta but I found it held up great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Not much flavor. I did add an extra can od diced organic tomatoes with double the seasoning but not much flavor still
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Another family favorite. Again, this recipe is easy and delicious. The only thing I did different was instead of using tomato sauce, I used a can of diced and seasoned tomatoes. You can generally find it with the tomato sauce and paste. But, it's definitely not necessary. It's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genaeve
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States