Italian Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I don't have a bread maker, but I do have a Kitchen Aid mixer. I thought this would be a nice challenge for me to try. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and warm water for ten minutes. Then, I added in all the dry ingredients. (I cut back on the pepper a bit and added garlic powder, but kept everything else the same.) I added in the cheese last, using sharp cheddar. When I used the dough hook, I had to add a tbsp. of oil to get the ingredients to grab together and jump on the hook. I kneaded it for about five minutes with the hook, then set the dough in a oiled bowl on my warm oven to rise, covered with saran wrap and a towel. I let it rise twice, once for an hour in the bowl and once in the bread pan for a half hour. Then, I baked it in a 350* oven for about a half hour or so. (I don't usually time my breads. My instincts are pretty good about when it smells done.) This smells heavenly. I can't wait to serve it with dinner. Super easy for me. A bread maker is not needed for this recipe! EDITED: This turned out perfectly. Making this without a bread machine, I had no issues with the bread collapsing. And the flavor was unbelievable. I'd make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
My husband loves this bread but at first said it was too dry, so I added 1/4 cup of oil to the recipe and now he says its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
This recipe was extremely easy to make. The taste and texture were excellent. I also used this recipe to make toasted garlic bread. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
Delicious! Wonderful texture and great taste!! Spicey enough for my husband, but not too spicey for me (our pepperjack was a very spicey jack cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I happened to use one of the bread machines I have that HATES sugar, so even reducing the sugar to 1 T. caused this to rise more than I would have liked. I don't care for sugar in my breads anyway, so I should have just left it out altogether. Unlike other reviewers I did not add oil, as the cheese (I used cheddar) contributes enough on its own. I used only half the amount of seasoning called for - I just used thyme, rosemary, basil and oregano. I loved the addition of the black pepper, which gave this a pleasant, spicy bite. For a browner, more crackly crust I chose to use the French Bread cycle. I was tempted to stick with the more traditional ratio of one cup liquid to three cups of flour and wish I had. I ended up having to add more flour, probably another few tablespoons. Other than a sticky, wet dough in the beginning and it rising too much for me, this was a lovely, fragrant, moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This is a great bread! Everyone I have ever served it to asks for the recipe. Even my two preschoolers love it. Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This is delicious - especially if you love cheese like my family! We have substituted the cheese on this recipe and it's great with mozzerella, cheddar, and monterey jack (or combinations of these)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
This was the only time my bread "caved", I think I may have used too much pepperjack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
My husband just loved this spicey bread. We had it with dinner and the next day he made sandwiches out of it. Wonderful. All gone! Cheryl King
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I did make a few changes, made the dough in my bread machine, and let it have its first rise. I shaped the dough in to a round and placed on a cornmeal covered baking tray. Covered with a damp cloth for 30 minutes to rise while my oven warmed (350 degrees). I spayed the crust 3 times in the first 7 minutes of baking with warm water. Baked for 30 minutes then removed loaf from the oven, coated with oil and topped with Italian Cheese, Italian Seasoning and a little crushed red pepper before cooking for a further 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States