Italian Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I agree with JFOURNIER, these are similar to KMC's Italian Nut Balls. It is a really versatile meatball. I use pecan meal, instead of chopped pecans, and only 3/4 c bread crumbs. I bake mine for 15 minutes at 350, then cover with store bought or homemade marinara sauce, mushroom gravy, sweet and sour glaze, etc. I bake the sauce covered meatball for 30 minutes at 325. They are wonderful! These make great breakfast patties, if you use an ice-cream scoop to scoop them out onto a baking sheet. Then flatten to 1/2 inch thickness. Bake at 325 for 30 minutes. Cool, then package 3-4 patties in a zip-lock bag. Nuke about 30 seconds, and they are ready to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANNE C. SWISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was a good meal and we will probably make it again. Next time I might just press it in the bottom of the pan instead of taking the time to make balls of it just to make it easier. I also prebaked it instead of frying it to make it easier as well. With those changes it can be an easy weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These are so delicious! I've made them for lots of people, with great results. I use a carton of roasted red pepper soup for the sauce, leave out the cumin. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
they wern't at all cheesey, but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
these were messy and tasted really strange. maybe the pecans weren't processed fully or something. i ended up with a pan full of oily nut mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Basically vegetarian meatballs - my husband loved them but they were a lot of work I felt like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Very interesting flavor, but a little dry (especially if they've been sitting out at a party for a couple hours). I would probably recommend adding more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
These are excellent! I am a vegetarian and couldn't ask for a more perfect snack or appetizer for a meal. They are absolutely delicious! I accidentally left out the pecans in the first time around and they were still great! I am making them again, being sure that I remember the pecans this time! A++++++ (I hardly ever give five stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Really enjoyed these ... a great change from meatballs - my family enjoyed them too. I also cooked the cheese balls in the oven to avoid deep-frying - 350 degrees for 30 min. was all that was needed. I also placed them on parchment paper so I didn't have to grease the pan either. I substituted my own spiced tomato sauce but next time I'll try the one on the recipe. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This is similar to the Italian Cheese Ball recipe I stole from Kettering Medical Center (Kettering, Ohio) in 1980 - only they called for ground walnuts, instead of pecans. I think thre's more flavor with walnuts. Strict carnivores I know don't care for this recipe, and my kids hated it. I love this recipe, however, and so do all my veggie friends. NB: I avoid all frying, so I brown the cheese balls in the oven first - 40 min at 350°F. It makes for a lot of oven time, but cuts way down on the fat intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked meatballs.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States