Italian Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I'Mm Italain and I have this recipe and it's great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRIAM01
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Although I made some changes, this is my new favorite frosting. Instead of egg whites, I substituted Meringue Powder and Water, and it worked beautifully. I used 10 tsp of meringue powder and 2/3 cups water. Also, as other suggested. I only used 1 cup of shortening. At the end, because I wanted a bit more sweetness, I added 1 cup of powdered sugar. Although it does take a lot of work for this recipe in my opinion, it is well worth it!! **UPDATE** I made this again today and it seemed softer than usual. I think it was because I put the meringue powder in the bowl before I added the water, so the mixer didn't get all of it when whipping it up. Poor the water first, then add the powder slowly to incorporate then whip on high. Also, I wanted chocolate frosting, and added 1 1/4 cup of cocoa WAY TOO MUCH, unless you like a very RICH chocolate frosting. I will take it to 3/4 cup or 2/3 cup next time. To try to compensate for the "softness" I added another 1/2 cup of shortening, but I could taste some of it. I am hoping the chocolate will hide it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIAM01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is now my only recipe for buttercream. If you've only had the powdered sugar variety, this might taste strange, but this is a grown-up buttercream frosting that is subtle and satiny. It decorates great, and holds up amazingly well even though it seems too delicate. I use all unsalted butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was wonderful, I'm 16 and I want to grow up to be a cake/pastry/chocolatier and I tried making real butter cream with a different recipe and it came out horrible, but this came out perfect, but I only used 1 cup of shortening, I don't know if it would have made a difference but it came out perfectly anyway :) Great Recipe! Every time I make butter cream this is the recipe I'm going to go back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Oh, wow, amazing. Couldn't stop licking the spoon. I left out the shortening and it set so nice in my first-ever layer cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Left out the shortening, and it was just amazing. Couldn't stop eating it. It is really best on the first day, and while it can be chilled, it wasn't as good, in my opinion. Just delicious, and good for decorating, too - it held up very nicely in my piping bag even without the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaclynnb9
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I could take a winter's nap between the billowing folds of this whipped delight! *I too left out the shortening and added more butter until I reached my desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynnb9

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laydeekadybug
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Straight forward....I LOVE this idea...It is PERFECT for piping! But before you actually use this recipe,There are a LOT of tweaks that you might want to consider: (1) This frosting has NO taste (besides a strong aftertaste of butter); I recommend using both Almond AND vanilla extract. (2) 2 2/3 Cup of shortening was waaaay too much in the original recipe (I could tell just by looking at the darn thing), so I cut it down to 1/3 cup and it worked great. (3) Do NOT substitute margarine for butter. TIPS: (1)If you can, use a stand mixer with a whisk attachment. I started off with a hand mixer, but ended up switching to my stand mixer to get the final fluffy finish. (2) Put frosting in a piping bag FIRST, then place in the fridge to cool. It started to separate when it got too warm from holding it (like all frostings do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laydeekadybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This was alright. The only change I made was to use only 1/2 c. of shortening. This very well may taste like a proper buttercream, but I found it pretty tasteless. I don't like the overly sweetened icings, but this needs more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I'm sure it might have been good, but after mixing for essentially 30 minutes, my icing separated after 2 days. I'm not sure what happened nor how to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States