Italian Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRIAM01
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Although I made some changes, this is my new favorite frosting. Instead of egg whites, I substituted Meringue Powder and Water, and it worked beautifully. I used 10 tsp of meringue powder and 2/3 cups water. Also, as other suggested. I only used 1 cup of shortening. At the end, because I wanted a bit more sweetness, I added 1 cup of powdered sugar. Although it does take a lot of work for this recipe in my opinion, it is well worth it!! **UPDATE** I made this again today and it seemed softer than usual. I think it was because I put the meringue powder in the bowl before I added the water, so the mixer didn't get all of it when whipping it up. Poor the water first, then add the powder slowly to incorporate then whip on high. Also, I wanted chocolate frosting, and added 1 1/4 cup of cocoa WAY TOO MUCH, unless you like a very RICH chocolate frosting. I will take it to 3/4 cup or 2/3 cup next time. To try to compensate for the "softness" I added another 1/2 cup of shortening, but I could taste some of it. I am hoping the chocolate will hide it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIAM01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
After reading the reviews it looked like all I had to do was leave out the shortening and all would be well. Except that it wasn't stiff enough so I added a cup of shortening. That firmed it to the correct consistency. I then had my husband do a taste test (his birthday cake after all) and the strangest look crossed his face as he asked if there was any sugar in it. I tasted it myself and sure enough it was bland as anything. To try and save it I added two more cups of sugar another teaspoon of vanilla and a half teaspoon of salt. This helped dramatically, especially the salt. I might want to experiment using salted butter if I ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Left out the shortening, and it was just amazing. Couldn't stop eating it. It is really best on the first day, and while it can be chilled, it wasn't as good, in my opinion. Just delicious, and good for decorating, too - it held up very nicely in my piping bag even without the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
While the buttercream looks great, the shortening is overbaring. Skip the shortening and you have a nice, proper, Italian buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Oh, wow, amazing. Couldn't stop licking the spoon. I left out the shortening and it set so nice in my first-ever layer cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This recipe is not much better then the shortening & confectioner's sugar recipes. I was very disappointed and ended up making another frosting. Too much shortening, it ended up leaving a very unpalatable greasy coating in the mouth. This recipe is not worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was wonderful, I'm 16 and I want to grow up to be a cake/pastry/chocolatier and I tried making real butter cream with a different recipe and it came out horrible, but this came out perfect, but I only used 1 cup of shortening, I don't know if it would have made a difference but it came out perfectly anyway :) Great Recipe! Every time I make butter cream this is the recipe I'm going to go back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I'Mm Italain and I have this recipe and it's great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I'm sure it might have been good, but after mixing for essentially 30 minutes, my icing separated after 2 days. I'm not sure what happened nor how to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is now my only recipe for buttercream. If you've only had the powdered sugar variety, this might taste strange, but this is a grown-up buttercream frosting that is subtle and satiny. It decorates great, and holds up amazingly well even though it seems too delicate. I use all unsalted butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States