Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
i really liked this bread - I, like other reviewers, used half AP and half bread flour. The only thing I will do differently next time is to do the slice/cut before the final rise. After my bread had risen (and it was beautiful) I did the cut and lost all my beautiful rise. Oh and there was no reason to rise it on a cutting board and then move it to a baking sheet. Just rise it on the baking sheet. I also read a tip recently to use semolina flour vs. corn meal so you don't have the uncooked cornmeal on the bottom of the bread. (I haven't done this because I don't keep semolina flour in my cupboard!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
wonderful with no chemicals, couldn't stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel italiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLFeeney
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe is perfect (but I used bread flour). I waited until the last 15 minutes and added shredded asiago cheese to one of the loaves (see my photo). Also, I always pre-heat my oven to 150 degrees for 10 minutes and the let the bread rise in an oven with the door cracked and let it raise for at least 50 minutes. I also use a sil-pat style mat rather than cornmeal or a baking stone. I think the bread is more consistent this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFeeney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was dense but tasty. Yeast may have been cause of thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I've tried at least ten different French bread recipes, this is the simplest and the best! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcrystal1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. I make it as directed, except, like some others, I let it rise on the sheet that I will bake it on. Wonderful flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Excellent!!! I Got my oven nice and steamy and they baked up beautifully! Worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steelerguy
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This simple recipe worked fantastically for me. Per the recipe I used only AP flour, would probably do 50/50 AP and bread next time, but really not an issue. The egg wash gives it a fantastic shiny crust, with the cut allowing a nice amount of rise as it cooks. I actually formed a single 12" long loaf out of it for garlic/sandwich bread and also doubled the olive oil to 1 T. for a bit more flavor. Also just let it rise right on the baking sheet so no moving. The cut did deflate it a bit, but no worries, right back up in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Wow. I make this all the time now. It is completely delicious and makes the house smell fantastic. I cut the salt. I have used all-purpose flower and bread flower and a mix. Great all the time. Give it a try! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Burkulater
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Pefect! Made it exactly as directed and it was fantastic! It would be wonderful as sandwich bread and it made perfect bread cubes for Thanksgiving stuffing. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States