Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
After reading reviews, I followed some recommendations. I used only a tsp of salt. I don't have a bread machine, so used my stand mixer with a dough hook, covered the dough and let rise 30 min. I punched it down and shaped the loaves on baking sheet with parchment and let raise for 30 minutes. Didn't use cornmeal, made diagonal cuts and brushed it with the egg mixture. What a wonderful crust and flavor. My husband and I had to have a couple of slices right from the oven! It is going to go great with the homemade wedding soup later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This was wonderful! (I used half bread flour and half all-purpose.) The texture was nice and soft inside, slightly crisper, chewier crust. My son said this was his favorite, of all the breads I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Just made this most excellent French bread. Did everything according to the recipe, only I did not raise dough on separate cutting board, I raised on the baking sheet. This is the best recipe, I can't wait to try it with some Italian spices, that some have suggested. The crust is so nice and crunchy, my husband loved this...thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
First rise was good. 2nd rise and the loaves fell flat moving them onto the pizza stone. Did not rise after after baking. Will not do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I switched out 1 1/2 cups of bread flour with white whole wheat bread flour and added 1 tbs Italian Spices and 2 tsp garlic powder. Made it more of a country loaf, very tasty, and boy did it smell great cooking!. Family loved it! I also let the bread rise on my bread pan. The second time I mace it I froze one loaf before rising for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
i really liked this bread - I, like other reviewers, used half AP and half bread flour. The only thing I will do differently next time is to do the slice/cut before the final rise. After my bread had risen (and it was beautiful) I did the cut and lost all my beautiful rise. Oh and there was no reason to rise it on a cutting board and then move it to a baking sheet. Just rise it on the baking sheet. I also read a tip recently to use semolina flour vs. corn meal so you don't have the uncooked cornmeal on the bottom of the bread. (I haven't done this because I don't keep semolina flour in my cupboard!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
wonderful with no chemicals, couldn't stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel italiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLFeeney
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe is perfect (but I used bread flour). I waited until the last 15 minutes and added shredded asiago cheese to one of the loaves (see my photo). Also, I always pre-heat my oven to 150 degrees for 10 minutes and the let the bread rise in an oven with the door cracked and let it raise for at least 50 minutes. I also use a sil-pat style mat rather than cornmeal or a baking stone. I think the bread is more consistent this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFeeney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was dense but tasty. Yeast may have been cause of thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I've tried at least ten different French bread recipes, this is the simplest and the best! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcrystal1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States