Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
OK, I LOVED this recipe, and have made this several times. Turned out perfect every time! However, for some weird reason the recipe has been changed to say it only calls for 1 tablespoon water to the entire 4 cups of flour. I'm soooooo sad that I don't remember how much water it is supposed to call for... I'm hoping it will get corrected so we can all enjoy this fabulous recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Turned out perfect first time I made it:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
It did not taste any different than other breads and went stale very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I have been using this recipe for a couple of years. My family loves it! My husband is of Italian decent and we can never find true Italian bread hard on the outside yet soft inside this simple recipe does that, so happy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Church Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We love this bread! I've been trying to make an Italian bread similar to the loaves we remember from an Italian bakery in Portland, Maine, where my Italian grandparents lived. This recipe is pretty much spot on. Great chewy crust and an inside with great flavor and texture. I bought a bread lame and am trying to get the scoring down right. Will definitely make this again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I feel a little badly rating this bread at only four stars. I used bread flour, as suggested by other reviewers, and my bread turned out craggy and a little dry. The taste was good and the crumb was decent, but I will have to try this recipe again with AP flour to see if that changes the problems I had. I made no other alterations other than the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I love this bread! I've made it many a time and my family loves it as well! My go to Italian Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I am just learning to make bread and always use the machine and then into the oven. The bread was nice and fluffy inside with a heavy crust outside. Perfect for making a large sub and cutting it up to share. once out of the machine, I formed it into 2 long loaves then covered in egg and cornstarch. Buy putting it on the parchment paper and sheet, I didnt have to move it again once it had risen. I would like to see some suggestions on how to store it right out of the oven. I left mine out on the counter overnight and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Hayward-Nason

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is best bread I have ever made. Loved it. This totally changes everything. I was intrigued by all the positive feedback on this recipe. It WAS excellent. I took in some of the suggestions: I cut the salt to 1 tsp, I let the bread rise on my parchment covered stoneware sheet, I did brush the top with the egg wash and I did cut the bread lengthwise, I did not cook in bread machine I made two loafs and cooked in over cam out so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This bread is fantastic! The flavor and texture is the same as the local Italian bread bakery. I shaped the loaves and put them on my baking sheet with parchment paper eliminating the need for the cornmeal. I also found that by making the slice down the length before rising seemed to work better than right before baking the loaves. Since I keep my house cooler, I let them rise about 1 1/2 hours giving me larger less dense loaves of bread. My entire family loved this bread and I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States