Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
First rise was good. 2nd rise and the loaves fell flat moving them onto the pizza stone. Did not rise after after baking. Will not do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I switched out 1 1/2 cups of bread flour with white whole wheat bread flour and added 1 tbs Italian Spices and 2 tsp garlic powder. Made it more of a country loaf, very tasty, and boy did it smell great cooking!. Family loved it! I also let the bread rise on my bread pan. The second time I mace it I froze one loaf before rising for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
i really liked this bread - I, like other reviewers, used half AP and half bread flour. The only thing I will do differently next time is to do the slice/cut before the final rise. After my bread had risen (and it was beautiful) I did the cut and lost all my beautiful rise. Oh and there was no reason to rise it on a cutting board and then move it to a baking sheet. Just rise it on the baking sheet. I also read a tip recently to use semolina flour vs. corn meal so you don't have the uncooked cornmeal on the bottom of the bread. (I haven't done this because I don't keep semolina flour in my cupboard!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
wonderful with no chemicals, couldn't stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel italiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLFeeney
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe is perfect (but I used bread flour). I waited until the last 15 minutes and added shredded asiago cheese to one of the loaves (see my photo). Also, I always pre-heat my oven to 150 degrees for 10 minutes and the let the bread rise in an oven with the door cracked and let it raise for at least 50 minutes. I also use a sil-pat style mat rather than cornmeal or a baking stone. I think the bread is more consistent this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFeeney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was dense but tasty. Yeast may have been cause of thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I've tried at least ten different French bread recipes, this is the simplest and the best! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcrystal1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. I make it as directed, except, like some others, I let it rise on the sheet that I will bake it on. Wonderful flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Excellent!!! I Got my oven nice and steamy and they baked up beautifully! Worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steelerguy
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This simple recipe worked fantastically for me. Per the recipe I used only AP flour, would probably do 50/50 AP and bread next time, but really not an issue. The egg wash gives it a fantastic shiny crust, with the cut allowing a nice amount of rise as it cooks. I actually formed a single 12" long loaf out of it for garlic/sandwich bread and also doubled the olive oil to 1 T. for a bit more flavor. Also just let it rise right on the baking sheet so no moving. The cut did deflate it a bit, but no worries, right back up in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States