Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amy
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This was so easy and very good! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I just couldn't get this bread right. The first time I tried to make it, it didn't really form a dough. So, I scratched it and we tried again. This time, I followed a reviewers instructions of letting the yeast and water sit together for 10 minutes. Still, it didn't seem like there was enough liquid in order to make a dough. So I added more liquid until it formed a dough. It looked really nice in the oven, but when we tasted it, it was too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I use this recipe often and we love it. It is really easy too. I also make an herbed olive oil dip to go along with the bread to either dip the bread into or spoon over the sliced pieces. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Thuer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I love this recipe! Especially the part where you bake it in the oven instead of the bread machine so that I don't get that hole in the bottom of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
OK, I LOVED this recipe, and have made this several times. Turned out perfect every time! However, for some weird reason the recipe has been changed to say it only calls for 1 tablespoon water to the entire 4 cups of flour. I'm soooooo sad that I don't remember how much water it is supposed to call for... I'm hoping it will get corrected so we can all enjoy this fabulous recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Turned out perfect first time I made it:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
It did not taste any different than other breads and went stale very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I have been using this recipe for a couple of years. My family loves it! My husband is of Italian decent and we can never find true Italian bread hard on the outside yet soft inside this simple recipe does that, so happy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Church Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We love this bread! I've been trying to make an Italian bread similar to the loaves we remember from an Italian bakery in Portland, Maine, where my Italian grandparents lived. This recipe is pretty much spot on. Great chewy crust and an inside with great flavor and texture. I bought a bread lame and am trying to get the scoring down right. Will definitely make this again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I feel a little badly rating this bread at only four stars. I used bread flour, as suggested by other reviewers, and my bread turned out craggy and a little dry. The taste was good and the crumb was decent, but I will have to try this recipe again with AP flour to see if that changes the problems I had. I made no other alterations other than the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States