Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Amazing bread! I decided to make this because someone had posted in the 'buzz' that hers turned out dense and seeked for help. After reading a few reviews, I used half bread flour half all-purpose flour and cut the salt down to 1 teaspoon. I had used the bread machine for the kneading part only (20min) and rised the dough in a lightly oiled bowl, covered with a damp towel inside the oven with lights on. Since the house was cold, I turned on the warm setting (boost the heat) until it starts to warm up but not too warm. Then turned it off. It doubled in 30 minutes. Thought that was awesome because normally I let dough rise way longer than that. After shaping it, I placed in a baking pan which I smeared with teensy bit of oil, dusted cornmeal, and covered with a damp towel then placed it in the oven. The bread was soo soft with slightly chewy crust just like the convenient store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
DELISH...THANKS FOR SHARING...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is THE BEST Italian bread recipe I have ever tried, and I have tried many! I bake many different types of breads and have been experimenting with different recipes to try to get that crispy crust like the bread from the bakery, without success. This recipe accomplishes that! Wonderful crust and dense chewy inside, just like the Italian Bakery! I added sesame seeds on top and scored the top mmmmmmmm good! Thank-you for ending my search, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Very good bread. It's a lot easier to eliminate the cutting board and form the loaves on the baking sheet, sprinkled with cornmeal. No transfer necessary after rising, and the risen loaves don't get shaken down trying to transfer them from the board to the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SeaWench
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I halved the recipe and made one loaf. I was very happy with how the bread turned out. As others mentioned, it is a dense bread, but still yummy. The small amount left over did not keep well though. It was quite hard the following morning even though I had wrapped it up overnight. Would make good french toast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very good bread. Easy to do. I only needed 3 2/3 cup of flour. The inside texture of this bread is incredibly soft. The crust is nice as well. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Baked it right in the bread machine- SO good. I kept all the ingredients as is except I cut back on the flour to 3 cups (that is the max capacity for my machine). I was really worried that less flour would screw up the finished product- I set my machine to bake while I was out of the house- so there was no room for tweaking as the bread was being made. But guess what? We had a gorgeous loaf of bread. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
All in with the stars Destiny. Great stuff, simple yet delicious. I "built" the loaves on a pizza peel (it was handy and I thought it appropriate) and then slid them off onto the pizza stone in the oven. (only after covering the tops with my home-made Everything bagel mix.... Nice! Plus, it puts my bread machine to work ! Bob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shangella
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I used 3 cups of bread flour. I did NOT cut back on salt, I did reduce by half the brown sugar. The bread came out perfect. nice crust nice chewy dough. I made 1 loaf and cooked it 40 min. I sprayed my bread twice with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Wonderful bread - I split the recipe in half because my breadmaker only is able to handle 1lb loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States