Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I love this bread! I've made it many a time and my family loves it as well! My go to Italian Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I am just learning to make bread and always use the machine and then into the oven. The bread was nice and fluffy inside with a heavy crust outside. Perfect for making a large sub and cutting it up to share. once out of the machine, I formed it into 2 long loaves then covered in egg and cornstarch. Buy putting it on the parchment paper and sheet, I didnt have to move it again once it had risen. I would like to see some suggestions on how to store it right out of the oven. I left mine out on the counter overnight and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Hayward-Nason

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is best bread I have ever made. Loved it. This totally changes everything. I was intrigued by all the positive feedback on this recipe. It WAS excellent. I took in some of the suggestions: I cut the salt to 1 tsp, I let the bread rise on my parchment covered stoneware sheet, I did brush the top with the egg wash and I did cut the bread lengthwise, I did not cook in bread machine I made two loafs and cooked in over cam out so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This bread is fantastic! The flavor and texture is the same as the local Italian bread bakery. I shaped the loaves and put them on my baking sheet with parchment paper eliminating the need for the cornmeal. I also found that by making the slice down the length before rising seemed to work better than right before baking the loaves. Since I keep my house cooler, I let them rise about 1 1/2 hours giving me larger less dense loaves of bread. My entire family loved this bread and I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and have made the following minor changes. I used 3 cups of AP flour and 1 cup of bread flour. Also added a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. I made one large loaf instead of splitting into two and cut it crossways for more crunch. Finally, after brushing with the egg mixture, I sprinkled sesame seeds, a pinch of kosher salt, and a mix of garlic powder and Italian herbs on top. I won't change another thing. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this the other night and it turned out great! I followed the instructions to a "T." Yes, I'll use this recipe again. The next time, although, I'll experiment with herbs; however, it's great just the way its written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
LOVE!!! This is the ONLY recipe I use for Italian bread. After trying a few other ones nothing compares to this one. I make it plain, or throw in some garlic powder, parsley and oregano. I like to use it for grilled cheese samis but have to bake 2 because the 1st loaf gets devoured by my family topped with butter and honey. Must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I have tried this recipe several times and I always liked the flavor, but something wasn't right. The last time I used 2 and 1/2 teaspoons of yeast instead of the 2 and 1/4 teaspoons and I separated the dough equally and shaped them into loaves. I placed them into two greased loaf pans and let them rise for ONE AND A HALF HOURS instead of 40 min. This made all the difference! It was so much lighter and fluffier. The bread before was so dense. It is saltier than some other breads but I liked it that way, but if you don't like salty, I would suggest cutting it down to 1 teaspoon like others have suggested. I think if you are just going to make a loaf without a pan you should make it one large loaf instead of 2 smaller ones and adjust cooking time because when you make 2 loaves they are very small, even in a loaf pan it barely rises past the top. I also stopped cutting the top, I don't think it has much effect on the bread and mine never looked good ;) As for the egg wash, I kept it because I feel it makes the top much crustier I did find more success with a deeper brown/more attractive crust with an egg yolk wash instead of a whole egg wash. If you hate to waste, just make yourself some scrambled egg white to put on a sandwich with your yummy homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina Puzino
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and it turned out delicious! Next time I'd like to make one large loaf though, instead of two small loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Puzino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
The bread tasted good but moving it to the baking sheet causes it to fall flat. Against my better judgement I followed those instructions and it was flat. I'll make this again and let it rise on the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Smetana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States