Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Wonderful bread. This recipe was exactly what I wanted. Something that used the machine for the dough, but the oven for cooking. I did use the 1 tsp of salt and I did let it rise on the bread pans I had. I used bread flour and it was lighter then I was expecting. Will use 50/50 bread/apf next time. Also this dough is going to be perfect for a bread roll I make with meat and cheese inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This bread is ridiculously easy to make, and so delicious it's probably illegal in some states. At first I wasn't quite on board, since I was looking for a straight up bread machine loaf recipe, but I am thrilled that I went through with the piddling step of taking the dough out of the machine, brushing it with an egg wash and cooking it for a half hour. Honestly, when it came out of the oven I had just eaten a large dinner and couldn't resist taking a little nubbin off the end. Outrageous. I'm going to make a garlic bread with one loaf, and maybe use the other for sandwiches. I'm not worried, this bread will be eaten up in no time for sure. I had cornmeal on hand and I really like the touch that adds to the bottom of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinniepants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
didnt work for me. Will try again and re review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Terrific recipe - but I don't own a bread machine! This is what I did: I used rapid rise yeast - so non-machine makers adjust times accordingly for regular yeast! I used all ingredients as stated. I proofed the yeast with the water/brown sugar first, then added to the remaining ingredients in my stand mixer's bowl. Using the dough hook I mixed/kneaded the dough approximately 5 minutes on low speed. There was no need for additional flours - it was perfect. I turned the mixer off, removed the hook and put a towel over the bowl, letting it rise for about 30 minutes. Then, I removed the dough and punched it down, made it into two loaves and placed them directly on my large pizza stone covered in cornmeal, covered them with the damp towel and put them into a slightly warmed oven to rise for about 35 minutes. At this point, I followed it up just as the recipe stated with the egg wash and slicing the top (I did short diagonals instead of down the middle - but it really makes no difference that I can see) and baked them for 35 minutes on the nose. Great recipe, awesome tasting bread, and so very easy to make. My daughter and I had the first loaf gone before it cooled - sliced it and smeared it with the "Garlic Butter" recipe from this site. I had to make two more batches that night just so we had some left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
356 reviews and only 4.5 stars? Who ever didn't rate this 5 stars did something wrong. This is an excellent recipe and I've made it several times. Every time was simply and the bread turned out perfect. I'm cooking it for a pasta dinner I have planned for my mother in law tomorrow. Now THAT must say alot! If you're looking for a good italian bread this one is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe. I did make one change in the ingredients, I used honey instead of the brown sugar. I made one large loaf and shared with my neighbor. Easy to make and it raised perfectly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squirrelgirl22
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This turned out quite well and the flavor of the bread was fantastic. My loaf turned out to be a little dense and gummy, but I think that's more my user error than an issue with the recipe; I may have over-shaped the dough, or let it rise too long. I would make this again, perhaps as rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Excellent! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokingalleykat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I have searched though recipe upon recipe looking for a good one and this is the BEST I have found. It comes out just perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I used 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 all purpose. This bread is amazing, addictive and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States