Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Terrific recipe - but I don't own a bread machine! This is what I did: I used rapid rise yeast - so non-machine makers adjust times accordingly for regular yeast! I used all ingredients as stated. I proofed the yeast with the water/brown sugar first, then added to the remaining ingredients in my stand mixer's bowl. Using the dough hook I mixed/kneaded the dough approximately 5 minutes on low speed. There was no need for additional flours - it was perfect. I turned the mixer off, removed the hook and put a towel over the bowl, letting it rise for about 30 minutes. Then, I removed the dough and punched it down, made it into two loaves and placed them directly on my large pizza stone covered in cornmeal, covered them with the damp towel and put them into a slightly warmed oven to rise for about 35 minutes. At this point, I followed it up just as the recipe stated with the egg wash and slicing the top (I did short diagonals instead of down the middle - but it really makes no difference that I can see) and baked them for 35 minutes on the nose. Great recipe, awesome tasting bread, and so very easy to make. My daughter and I had the first loaf gone before it cooled - sliced it and smeared it with the "Garlic Butter" recipe from this site. I had to make two more batches that night just so we had some left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
356 reviews and only 4.5 stars? Who ever didn't rate this 5 stars did something wrong. This is an excellent recipe and I've made it several times. Every time was simply and the bread turned out perfect. I'm cooking it for a pasta dinner I have planned for my mother in law tomorrow. Now THAT must say alot! If you're looking for a good italian bread this one is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe. I did make one change in the ingredients, I used honey instead of the brown sugar. I made one large loaf and shared with my neighbor. Easy to make and it raised perfectly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squirrelgirl22
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This turned out quite well and the flavor of the bread was fantastic. My loaf turned out to be a little dense and gummy, but I think that's more my user error than an issue with the recipe; I may have over-shaped the dough, or let it rise too long. I would make this again, perhaps as rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Excellent! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokingalleykat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I have searched though recipe upon recipe looking for a good one and this is the BEST I have found. It comes out just perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I used 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 all purpose. This bread is amazing, addictive and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
My bread didn't rise very much but the taste was good. I will retry with a little more yeast to see if that helps. If second bread raises better I will rerate again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
It turned out great! And I'm not very good at making bread. My husband said I have to make this every night from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was awesome! I baked the loafs then sliced and broiled for the best bruschetta ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States