Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I am new at cooking, but followed recipe and it turned out wonderful. I did use bread pans. AS suggested, I used 1 teaspoon of salt, 7 ice cubes in a pan below bread pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Jeez, friggin' Louise, this is GOOD. Made exactly as written, just cooked on parchment paper with corn flour sprinkled, so I didn't have to transfer risen loaves. I took this out of the oven, having already sampled a bit... put some butter on it, brought it into my husband who was shoving an entire piece in his mouth already. This is tasty. Easy as pie, using the bread machine to do all the hard work for me. I wouldn't change a thing. One loaf is already gone, and dinner isn't even done cooking. Will be making again, maybe tomorrow. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was a great recipe. Tasted just like bakery bought italian bread. The only problem I had was that the bread didn't rise as much as i would have liked. However, this may have been my fault because I think i made the loaves to long. Next time I will make them shorter this way they have more height.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very nice flavor. I dont have alot of bread baking experience and this was easy enough. I followed the recipe, and I resisted the urge to add Italian Seasoning as I was going to serve it with Pasta e Fagioli a la Chez Ivano from this site, and I knew that was going to be full of the seasonings so I didnt want to over do it. On techinque however, I did make a change. I let the bread rise on the stone that I baked them on. So glad I did. I dont know how in the world I would have transferred it. I was trying to work fast with the egg wash and it was starting to spread out, so I can't imagine what would have happened if I moved it. I meant to add a pan of ice to the oven but forgot. Great recipe, even for a beginner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
fantastic bread! This is the first time bread actually worked out for me. I never like the way my bread machine cooked the bread into a cube shaped loaf. It just isnt the same as baked in the oven. I let my bread rise on the pan that i cooked it on so i did not have to move it. Made a batch today and will make another tomorrow. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Excellent bread! My picky Italian father even loved it! I will never buy store bought bread again. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This bread is so simple and tastes amazing! Thank you for my new go-to bread recipe...no more picking a loaf up for dinner at the store! I do this in my kitchen aid mixer with the dough hook and it's so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Wow, this is fantastic exactly as written, I have made it twice in the past 3 days. The second time I made it I beat the egg with the 1 T of water and saved just enough of the mixture to brush over the top of the bread before baking and through the rest of the egg mixture into the bread maker before I started it up and I think it made the bread a little bit more tender. The first time I followed the recipe I noticed that a lot of the egg mixture went to waste because you only need a very small amount to brush over the tops before baking and figured it couldn't hurt to throw the egg into the dough rather than let it go to waste. Also don't forget roll the loaves in the cornmeal before placing in the pan and then sprinkle the cornmeal again on top after the egg wash. The cornmeal gives the bread a really nice texture on the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
For such a simple recipe, this bread is outstanding. I follow the recipe exactly, but shape the loaves and proof/bake them in a baguette baking pan with twin loaves. WOW! The bottoms of the loaves are dimpled, so the bread looks like it came from a professional bakery. First time I made these, I had a cold, and couldn't really taste the bread. I told my 13-year-old, and he said, "You don't know what you're missing." He was right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I just made this recipe today and I absolutely love it! I actually accidentally read the recipe wrong and put an egg in with my bread dough mixture, but after reading some of the reviews about the dough being too crumbly and somewhat dense I wasn't quite as worried about the way the bread might turn out. The result: the bread was the perfect texture inside and out. The recipe tastes exactly like the local bakery bread that I used to buy, which was exactly what I was looking for. This bread is perfectly moist, with a perfect crust and is absolutely delicious! The cornmeal and egg wash at the end give it the extra push to send it right over the top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States