Italian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I've been trying to find a good italian bread recipe but they all seem to have a bland taste. This turned out good, nice brown crust and soft inside, but kinda bland, wondering what i could add to give it a little more taste. Don't get me wrong the bread tasted good but still not as good as what i get at the store. all in all not a bad tasting bread just needs a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Easy to make, but somewhat flavorless and not very dense like the Italian bread I am used to where I grew up. Worth a try as it's very simple, pretty fool proof, and would probably be enjoyable toasted with garlic...but I wouldn't recommend for sandwiches. Crust turned out excellent. Inside was really soft. Dough was very soupy straight from the machine, just be prepared to work in a little more flour, don't freak out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I love this recipe! I use it to make pepperoni rolls and everyone raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I rarely review anything but this recipe was not a good at all. I rarely review recipes on here because they all turn out so well but not this one. The dough came out of the bread machine much too sticky and salty. I couldn't even form it into a loaf, so I had to add about a cup of flour. After it had risen, I made the little cuts in the bread, and it fell! My husband said it only derseved one star. He wouldn't eat it and he always eats whatever bread I make! We had stew and he wouldn't even use it to dip in the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
definitely will make again. Used to make subs also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teffer K
Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This bread was soooo good! We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Really salty---might cut the salt to 1 tsp. next time. Also, mine took longer to bake (35-40 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was exactly what I was looking for. I followed the recipe as posted except I misread the Olive Oil amount and put in 3 tablespoons, my husband said, "make it again the same way as it was perfect". It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I love this! It tastes like bakery Italian bread, only fresher and better. I will definitely make this again, it will probably become a staple bread in our home. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I mixed it up by hand and let it rise for 50 minutes then formed one loaf and baked on a pizza stone. This tastes so good I am making 2 more as the original cools. dough was very sticky but the finished loaf is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadgrinch8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States