Italian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
this bread has too much water so i tried to fix it by adding flour and it just did hold up this is the worse bread i had made this far i have nothing good to day about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
great, simple recipe ! I "health"ed it up a bit by using half white flour, 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and demerara sugar. I also had to add a touch more water ( where most reviewers said they needed less) but that is because of the type of yeast I use- my suggestion would be to start with one cup, and add 2 tablespoons of water until bread looks the right dough consistency. Great time saver :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katterbach, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
So good! The crust was nice and crusty and the inside was perfectly soft. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I like a chewier, less sweet bread so I used bread flour and reduced the sugar by half. Also, a 3:1 ratio of flour to water generally works best for me, so I used just one cup of water. Sandwich-style loaves are most practical for us, so I baked this in a glass loaf dish at 350 degrees, about 35 minutes. I greased the pan and used the egg wash, but skipped the cornmeal and sesame seeds. Very pleased - good, basic, home-style white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very easy to make and my family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
this is a really good bread. I didn't used the bread machine. So after I did the dough I let it stand for an hour and than I formed the loaf and let it rest for an other 45-60 mins. And it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
It's a 5 with just two changes. Don't separate the dough and do bake it in a loaf pan. It makes it much easier to get even slices for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe did not make 2 loaves for me, but that's probably to do with it being too cold here for the bread to rise properly. I made this bread manually. It does produce a very soft dough that likely wants more flour to make it work properly, but in order to avoid that what I did instead was melt a tablespoon of butter, let it cool a bit, and pour it over the dough before kneading and shaping. It won't stick to anything after that! Tastes good too. The recipe does produce a tender loaf of bread, very pretty, but it probably wasn't the best. I think if I made this again I'd add another teaspoon of yeast--I think I was missing the smell and flavor of yeast as it wasn't dominating my senses during the baking OR the eating time! (P.S. If you use the butter method to keep your bread from being sticky, omit the egg wash and just add your seeds to the buttery wet dough when you form it up for the 2nd rise. You can also use a plain milk wash instead of an egg wash anytime a recipe calls for an egg wash. It doesn't look identical, but it looks so close no one will complain!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Pretty good - easy to throw together and have ready for dinner. Next time, I'll make one big loaf instead of dividing into 2. The smaller loaves went well with our dinner, but I would like a bigger loaf for sandwiches,etc. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States