Italian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was my first attempt at making a crusty bread. I noticed when the bread first came out of the oven, the crust was firm, very crusty. But after sitting on the counter to cool, the crust softened...and because of my lack of experience making this type of bread, I can't explain why. I did put the loaf back into the oven for 5 min. just before eating it as suggested by other reviewers. The bread was very good, with a wonderful texture, but the crust was not firm...it was more soft. Don't get me wrong it was the best tasting Italian bread I've ever had, I just thought the outer layer would be firmer. I will make this bread again and again, we loved it and it earned 5 stars! I guess I don't have to have the crusty crust after all. I made Italian butter on this website and dipped the bread into that wonderful mixture of spices and good olive oil. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Came out absolutely perfect. Light and chewy. Perfect for a picnic or dinner. Will be making this again and might add a little rosemary to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
The only change I made when I made this bread was to use bread flour. No extra flour or water is needed. I have made this bread numerous times. The recipe is perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I like to use a 3 to 1 ratio of flour to water which I did for this recipe and the dough was perfect to work with. I also added a little garlic and onion powder. I didn't place a pan of water in the oven as instructed. Instead, I used my pizza stone and it baked perfectly. Also, after about 15 minutes in, I lightly brushed it, again, with the egg wash. The bread browned up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAYRAYL
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this for company and not a slice was left! My kids asked for it again the next morning, I didn't complain! It is so easy to make and so delicious! I changed nothing except I did not add the sesame seeds. I loved the cornmeal on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This tastes like real italian bread, awesome recipe. I dont have a bread machine so i just did everything by hand. Gonna keep this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Like other posters, I say too much water. Dough was a runny mess when it came out of the machine. After baking it was flat physically and to taste. There are better recipes with accurate measurements on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I don't know what it is about the recipe, but the bread comes out perfectly every single time. It's nice and crisp on the outside, but tender on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Great recipe! I made this for a dinner party to accompany pasta. Everyone loved it! This bread has a terrific crust and soft perfectly textured inside. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAHN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Easy to make and my family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States