Italian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a really good bread, but the recipe is VERY vague. For example, it says to shape the dough into loaves, placing the seam side down...what seam? See now, if I didn't know any better, I wouldn't have rolled the dough into a rectangle & then rolled it (like a jelly roll) into a "loaf", making a seam...to put "seamside" down. BUT I just assumed that rolling was the way to go & the bread turned out great. I don't have a bread machine, so I made it using my kitchen aid w/ the dough hook. I also took it out of the oven after 15 minutes & brushed it again with egg white & that also gave it a very nice crust. I liked the addition of brown sugar in this recipe compared to my normal recipe. Thanks for the tip Verla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was an excellent Italian bread recipe, but it's a good thing I checked it after a few minutes of kneading in the machine; it was like batter instead of dough! I ended up adding about 3/4 C. more flour just so it would knead into a ball. It was still rather hard to handle, but I did manage to get it into loaves. Thankfully, the end result was super! I strongly urge that 5 minutes in the oven before serving; it was the finishing touch for a nice, crusty loaf! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
THIS BREAD IS AWESOME!!!!!! THE BEST ITALIAN BREAD I HAVE EVER MADE! My family loves this bread. I have made it 3 times already and it has turned out great every time. The only change I have made was that one time I put sesame seeds, one time I put poppy seeds, and once I made it plain. Thanks for this recipe I will be making this bread for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
We loved this bread--had a nice crust and soft interior and was so delicious! The recipe is very adaptable to a manual process--I kneaded it for about 5 minutes after mixing. I made one big loaf, used a little less salt than specified, and did not use the egg wash or sesame seeds. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This recipe is my family's favorite bread recipe. I am constantly asked to make it. I use it to make homemade hamburger buns, (just divide dough into 8 balls, you'll never want those wimpy, soft buns at the store again) or when guests are expected, I braid it. Yummy...there is never any left after a dinner! Thank you Verla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I like a chewier, less sweet bread so I used bread flour and reduced the sugar by half. Also, a 3:1 ratio of flour to water generally works best for me, so I used just one cup of water. Sandwich-style loaves are most practical for us, so I baked this in a glass loaf dish at 350 degrees, about 35 minutes. I greased the pan and used the egg wash, but skipped the cornmeal and sesame seeds. Very pleased - good, basic, home-style white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Great bread recipe. It was a little sticky once I removed it from the bread machine so I just left it all in one large loaf and it baked just perfectly. I did add 1/2 tsp-1 tsp of each garlic powder,italian seasoning,onion & herb seasoning by Mrs.Dash. It was heavenly and had the perfect amount of flavor. It is without a doubt a 5 star recipe I did leave out the seeds as well. We had this with Lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
This was a very easy and delicious recipe. The original recipe doesn't tell you what to do with the egg, but I combined the egg & water and washed the bread with it, which gave the bread a lovely shiny crust. I definitely recommend reheating the bread before serving, and spritzing it with water to make the crust crispier. My neighbors begged me to make this again, but hey, they have a bread maker too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This recipe is good but not great. It is a bit vague and although I used the full amount of salt it tasted bland. It does have a nice crust and soft interior which is the reason for the 4 stars. I didn't care much for the sesame seeds so if I make it again I'll leave them out and try to add other seasoning like the previous reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Really salty---might cut the salt to 1 tsp. next time. Also, mine took longer to bake (35-40 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States