Italian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
If you are looking for a classic Italian bread recipe - this is it! It is so easy being able to prepare it in your bread machine then just put it in the oven! I give it 5 FULL stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I was a little confused by the instructions. It tells you to divide the dough in 2 but the recipe is for one loaf. Anyway, it was delicious . It was my first attempt at Italian Bread and my family all loved it! I also used your tip about baking it the extra five minutes while the lasagna I made was cooling. It worked great. Warm and crusty. Thanks, Verla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is the best bread recipe I have found. I have been looking for a recipe for light and fluffy italian bread with a good crust. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREL B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This was very tasty. I think next time i will just make one loaf though because the two loaves yeilded pretty small slices of bread. put garlic butter on it and served with baked ziti and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a really good bread, but the recipe is VERY vague. For example, it says to shape the dough into loaves, placing the seam side down...what seam? See now, if I didn't know any better, I wouldn't have rolled the dough into a rectangle & then rolled it (like a jelly roll) into a "loaf", making a seam...to put "seamside" down. BUT I just assumed that rolling was the way to go & the bread turned out great. I don't have a bread machine, so I made it using my kitchen aid w/ the dough hook. I also took it out of the oven after 15 minutes & brushed it again with egg white & that also gave it a very nice crust. I liked the addition of brown sugar in this recipe compared to my normal recipe. Thanks for the tip Verla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This recipe is my family's favorite bread recipe. I am constantly asked to make it. I use it to make homemade hamburger buns, (just divide dough into 8 balls, you'll never want those wimpy, soft buns at the store again) or when guests are expected, I braid it. Yummy...there is never any left after a dinner! Thank you Verla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
THIS BREAD IS AWESOME!!!!!! THE BEST ITALIAN BREAD I HAVE EVER MADE! My family loves this bread. I have made it 3 times already and it has turned out great every time. The only change I have made was that one time I put sesame seeds, one time I put poppy seeds, and once I made it plain. Thanks for this recipe I will be making this bread for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This italian bread recipe is the best bread yet that I have made in my bread machine. It is delicious! I have made 4 batches in 3 days, my family and I can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Excellent Recipe! This bread was a hit! It was sooo yummy, and moist inside yet had the "perfect" crunch on the outside. I would definitely recommend putting a small pan of water in the bottom of oven, and half way through the cook time spritzing with some water. I am making another batch of this bread as I type this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lobstergov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Conway, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
This was a very easy and delicious recipe. The original recipe doesn't tell you what to do with the egg, but I combined the egg & water and washed the bread with it, which gave the bread a lovely shiny crust. I definitely recommend reheating the bread before serving, and spritzing it with water to make the crust crispier. My neighbors begged me to make this again, but hey, they have a bread maker too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States