Italian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Really salty---might cut the salt to 1 tsp. next time. Also, mine took longer to bake (35-40 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was exactly what I was looking for. I followed the recipe as posted except I misread the Olive Oil amount and put in 3 tablespoons, my husband said, "make it again the same way as it was perfect". It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I love this! It tastes like bakery Italian bread, only fresher and better. I will definitely make this again, it will probably become a staple bread in our home. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I mixed it up by hand and let it rise for 50 minutes then formed one loaf and baked on a pizza stone. This tastes so good I am making 2 more as the original cools. dough was very sticky but the finished loaf is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadgrinch8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Loved this bread! I shaped the dough into four balls and let them rise in greased, oven-safe rice bowls. They made perfect bread bowls. The texture was just right for holding soup (but definitely use bread flour!). I love soup in a bread bowl, but bakeries seem to only make sourdough ones, which are not our favorite. So this was a treat for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
LOVE this bread but you should use BREAD FLOUR!!! It's never soupy with bread flour. I also only make 1 loaf, I put the egg wash on twice (once before baking and once during) and I spray with water and bake again when we're ready to eat it. I also bake the bread on a pan with the corn meal and olive oil and before I bake it the second time, I put more oil in the pan. The bread is so yummy you don't even think about butter. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This recipe is good but not great. It is a bit vague and although I used the full amount of salt it tasted bland. It does have a nice crust and soft interior which is the reason for the 4 stars. I didn't care much for the sesame seeds so if I make it again I'll leave them out and try to add other seasoning like the previous reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Great bread recipe. It was a little sticky once I removed it from the bread machine so I just left it all in one large loaf and it baked just perfectly. I did add 1/2 tsp-1 tsp of each garlic powder,italian seasoning,onion & herb seasoning by Mrs.Dash. It was heavenly and had the perfect amount of flavor. It is without a doubt a 5 star recipe I did leave out the seeds as well. We had this with Lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
don't have a bread machine so did this by hand. Wonderful dough to work with. Only change I made was to use 2 1/4 tsp yeast. Nice crispy crust and soft center. Perfect crumb. Baking time/temp was perfect. Thanks so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was an excellent Italian bread recipe, but it's a good thing I checked it after a few minutes of kneading in the machine; it was like batter instead of dough! I ended up adding about 3/4 C. more flour just so it would knead into a ball. It was still rather hard to handle, but I did manage to get it into loaves. Thankfully, the end result was super! I strongly urge that 5 minutes in the oven before serving; it was the finishing touch for a nice, crusty loaf! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States