Italian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is my new fave bread recipe. It's versatile and easy ! The inside texture is soft and silky. I use my kitchen aid mixer to make this. Mix it on #2 speed for about 5-8 minutes, then put it into a bowl which has been coated in olive oil and let it rise until it about doubles in size before shaping it. I only get one loaf out of this. It does get larger as it bakes, so keep that in mind when you shape it for the oven. (my first one was very oval shaped) I've added different things to the bread; dried oregano,basil and garlic, used it for garlic bread, made it into a flatbread etc. I don't use sesame seeds, or brush anything on the top of it. My family LOVES this bread anyway I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe worked perfectly. I have tried other recipes that didn't turn out as soft and delicious as this one. I am excited to try this recipe as a pizza crust. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I followed the directions exactly and loved how this turned out! I also made dipping oil for this bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam2015

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hedrick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
The flavor and texture is very good and easy to make too! But, my dough came out sticky and had to carefully work at getting it into one loaf (that was all I could do with it). Next time I will use a 3:1 flour to water ratio as another commenter suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! Very easy and it made a beautiful loaf. The crust was perfect, not too soft nor too chewy and the interior was soft. My family loved it but had one complaint -- they wished there'd been more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cryslee8
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Made this bread two different ways, one loaf style with olive oil and sesame on top, and the other portion of the dough I rolled into a square, spread garlic butter on it, rolled it up, cut like I would have cinnamon rolls, and let them rise in the 8" x 8" metal cake pan..... Both were light, crusty and delicious, served with lasagne -- will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryslee8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arabi, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
So good. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
pretty goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was my first attempt at making a crusty bread. I noticed when the bread first came out of the oven, the crust was firm, very crusty. But after sitting on the counter to cool, the crust softened...and because of my lack of experience making this type of bread, I can't explain why. I did put the loaf back into the oven for 5 min. just before eating it as suggested by other reviewers. The bread was very good, with a wonderful texture, but the crust was not firm...it was more soft. Don't get me wrong it was the best tasting Italian bread I've ever had, I just thought the outer layer would be firmer. I will make this bread again and again, we loved it and it earned 5 stars! I guess I don't have to have the crusty crust after all. I made Italian butter on this website and dipped the bread into that wonderful mixture of spices and good olive oil. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Came out absolutely perfect. Light and chewy. Perfect for a picnic or dinner. Will be making this again and might add a little rosemary to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States