Italian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
For a beginer at breads this is easy and fast. I made my own sun-dried tomatoes which added a better flavoring than store bought ones. You have to try this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This is delicious, especially with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Very filling, heavy bread. Wonderful taste and easy to make. Goes great with spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I thought this was a wonderful bread recipe! I chose it because it required no yeast, and I had none! I didn't use all of the ingredients listed, I pick and chose ones I knew my husband wouldn't complain about. I'm going to use this recipe as a regular bread base recipe by taking out all of the seasonings and adding my own different things based on what I'm making. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Great recipe! I had no yeast on hand and this HIT the spot. Very moist, even the next day (didn't last any longer, and there's only two of us!) I used mozzarella instead of cheddar and sauteed the garlic with some finely chopped onions before adding it into the bread - then sprinkled on more garlic, cheese, and onions on top. Will make again - my husband thinks he likes it better than yeast bread, but I'm not sure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
My family loved it. Baked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made a double batch, and it took a lot longer for each loaf to cook than 65 minutes. Then I figured it was still a little gooey inside because it's so coarse? So I had to take them out or they would have burned. I will probably slice them up and toast the slices when I want to eat them. This is a nice heavy bread, just what I wanted! People, read the description! There's no yeast, so of course it's going to be heavy! Anyway, the taste! It's got a lot of flavor--if only I had green onions to add! Oops, I forgot I added Sage and Thyme as well as the other two herbs. It really does go very well with pasta (obviously!). I thought the inside was good, BUT WOW THE CRUST...mine's really thick and crunchy because I baked the loaves for so long, and MAN that is the best part. Now I'm really looking forward to toasted slices of this delicious bread... Last thing: I used 4 1/4 cups all purpose flour and 3/4 cups soya flour to add some protein for a good, hearty bread that I could munch on for lunch (and remember I doubled the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
very easy to make and very tasty. Big hit with my potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was good! I liked the fact that I was able to just throw it together, without yeast, and stick it in the oven right away. Will make again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This bread was very very good! I rated 4 because I made a few changes. I added thyme and sage like another reviewer suggested. I put about 1 tsp of each. I also put in more cheese than it called for because my family loves cheese. Mine turned out perfect with 60 minutes to cook. Very good recipe thank you! Even a hit with the 9 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States