Italian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
it was very tasty but i found it was very heavy bread, very course. I think if i make it again i would use yeast. Flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chalmette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
For a beginer at breads this is easy and fast. I made my own sun-dried tomatoes which added a better flavoring than store bought ones. You have to try this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This is disgusting. The bread was way to thick and had a dull flavor to it. The crust was incredibly hard and it was grainy in texture. Had one peice and threw out the whole loaf. Waste of good herbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFWANDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This is delicious, especially with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Very filling, heavy bread. Wonderful taste and easy to make. Goes great with spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This bread was very easy for a beginner like myself. It tasted pretty good but needed to cooked quite a bit longer than the receipe indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This was very easy to make and it was moist. The problem was it had no taste! I will use it again but I will add alot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I thought this was great. I made some substitutions because I didn't have everything - a combination of parmesan and port cheese (weird, I know, but it worked) instead of cheddar, and oregano instead of parsley. I also added sunflower seeds just for kicks. Very easy & I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I thought this was a wonderful bread recipe! I chose it because it required no yeast, and I had none! I didn't use all of the ingredients listed, I pick and chose ones I knew my husband wouldn't complain about. I'm going to use this recipe as a regular bread base recipe by taking out all of the seasonings and adding my own different things based on what I'm making. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Great recipe! I had no yeast on hand and this HIT the spot. Very moist, even the next day (didn't last any longer, and there's only two of us!) I used mozzarella instead of cheddar and sauteed the garlic with some finely chopped onions before adding it into the bread - then sprinkled on more garlic, cheese, and onions on top. Will make again - my husband thinks he likes it better than yeast bread, but I'm not sure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States