Italian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This bread had a too-thick consistency, and was flavorless, despite adding extra organic, all-purpose seasoning and salt. I wouldn't make it again. I was very disappointed, because it smelled really good while baking, but, alas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Esposito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
very easy to make and very tasty. Big hit with my potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Not bad at all, but I think the next time I make it I will do as another reviewer suggested and try it with yeast. For Jen Z, this is a tip that my grandmother, mother, told me. Tap on the bread if it sounds hollow then the bread is done, this works everytime. Also if you put a pan (sheet cake Pan) of hot water on your oven rack UNDER the bread the steam will help to keep the crust of the bread from getting hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really good, but could be better! I used 1/4 tsp more baking soda and loved the texture. I doubled the garlic/tomatoes/onions and will do even more next time. Also, I would prefer more cheese. I don't enjoy subtle flavors :o) I like carbs self portioned so instead of a loaf, I made 12 "muffins" that I baked for 28 minutes. Yum! Will be a 5 star recipes in our house with some tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This bread was very very good! I rated 4 because I made a few changes. I added thyme and sage like another reviewer suggested. I put about 1 tsp of each. I also put in more cheese than it called for because my family loves cheese. Mine turned out perfect with 60 minutes to cook. Very good recipe thank you! Even a hit with the 9 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I found this bread easy to make however it was way too heavy and not very flavorful. One half slice of this bread will have you feeling full. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcella
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
A fun bread to make. Easy and a nice compliment to Italian dishes. Next time I make it, I am going to add more onion and garlic, and a pinch more salt. I think this would be scrumptious if toasted with a bit of butter, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Did not add any beans. Worked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made a double batch, and it took a lot longer for each loaf to cook than 65 minutes. Then I figured it was still a little gooey inside because it's so coarse? So I had to take them out or they would have burned. I will probably slice them up and toast the slices when I want to eat them. This is a nice heavy bread, just what I wanted! People, read the description! There's no yeast, so of course it's going to be heavy! Anyway, the taste! It's got a lot of flavor--if only I had green onions to add! Oops, I forgot I added Sage and Thyme as well as the other two herbs. It really does go very well with pasta (obviously!). I thought the inside was good, BUT WOW THE CRUST...mine's really thick and crunchy because I baked the loaves for so long, and MAN that is the best part. Now I'm really looking forward to toasted slices of this delicious bread... Last thing: I used 4 1/4 cups all purpose flour and 3/4 cups soya flour to add some protein for a good, hearty bread that I could munch on for lunch (and remember I doubled the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
My family loved it. Baked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States