Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
These are wonderful! They are great with Broccoli Cheddar Soup! I could not get 7 cups of flour to mix in evenly, so I ended up only using 6. I gave myself a concussion making them, so take care when kneading the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Langner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gary Kemp
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was a big hit with my family filled with some broccoli cheese soup! I did make to minor changes, I added a 1 tsp of sugar to help activate the yeast and substituted Extra Virgin Olive Oil for the vegetable oil (just a personal preference). Aside from that I followed the instructions exactly and the bowls came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Kemp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deepali Sachin
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Completely in love with this bread bowl, it was perfect and everyone at home enjoyed it. I replaced egg wash with milk wash as we don't eat egg and replaced corn meal with parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deepali Sachin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Great Recipe! One Suggestion for those trying this recipe out for the first time however is to hold the Egg White Finish until the bowls have firmed in the Oven, (around 15 minutes in) otherwise its easy to have your proofed dough fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FionixFeyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Too die for ! , we just loved them . Crispy on the outside , to hold soup . Great Italian bread flavor . I wish I had the time to make them every week . Thank you, for yet another great recipe! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I love these. I have made them several times. I have read reviews about them not rising. I had this problem once and I know why. I uses my kitchenaid for the entire process. You can't do that. You can use it to mix it all together, but then you actually need to turn it out on a floured surface and knead the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
These came out tasting really great, but I think I messed up and should have re-shaped them into balls after the last rise. They just came out too flat for bread bowls. :( We still tried, but it wasn't as practical as it would've been if they were deeper. Next time that's the only change I would make, otherwise they're great. Also, for the rises I covered the dough with a damp towel and put in the oven with the light on. Worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fatimah
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe and it's delicious. I added sugar as one reviewer suggested and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Love this recipe. Yes time consuming, but it is rising bread and that's part the fun. I made these for St Patricks and spooned in Irish stew. It was great! And a fun change for my family. On a side note...having the bread turn out nearly perfect the first time (and the first time I ever made bread) gave me a little boost in confidence as a baker and mom...brought back some memories if my own mom baking when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Awesome recipe! This was my first time making bread but they came out great. Kids loved em, hubby loved them....home run recipe;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fisty McDougal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States