Italian Bread Baked on a Pizza Stone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
Excellent recipe!! I have made 30-40 batches, using this recipe for Christmas gifts for neighbors and friends. If you have a Kitchen-Aid or similar bread capable mixer, double the recipe, and you will need to add a little more flour. The kids helped make snowflakes and Christmas trees. I now use this for my home made pizza crust. A pizza stone and Pizza peel are essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
Good basic Italian Bread recipe. Good texture and taste. I sprayed a bit of water in the oven, several times,as it was baking and gave it a nicer crust. I reccomend trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
The bread was delicious! I put the ingredients in the night before, and set the timer to have it ready when I woke up. Still bleary eyed, I separated the dough, let it rise, and put it into the oven. Yet the bread came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I really love this recipe, I love italian bread with a nice crust...this recipe does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This bread is the closest to real Italian bread I've found. After the egg, I dust flour over the tops of the loaves. If you like a crunchy crust try spritzing a little water in your oven a few times throughout the baking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
What an easy and fabulous bread - it had a great crispy crust when I took it out of the oven, but it softened by the time it cooled - next time I'll spritz the water rather than just put water in the oven. My family all raved over it and my son wanted it the next night for dinner! Definitely worth making!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This is a delicious bread. On my first attempt it stuck to the cutting board. It tasted good, but looked messed up. The next time I put parchment paper under the loaves so they would move easily to the stone. That worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This recipe was GREAT. I did notice the dough was a little sticky while I was mixing it so I added another 1/4 cup flour and it turned out great. I didn't have any problem with it sticking. I'll have to make double the recipe next time. It wasn't enough for my family of 7. My five children all wanted seconds and thirds. Thanks for a Great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Great recipe, I kneaded this by hand and found it to be a bit sticky so I added little more flour as I went. Bread was delicious and everyone raved about its taste. Thanks for a great find. CherylNJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
My husband and I absolutely adore this bread. It is really great dipped in olive oil and herbs and it makes wonderful toast! I am still working on getting the bread neatly onto the stone. Sometimes I do well, and sometimes the loaves end up oddly-shaped because after I slide the bread onto the stone, we have to use a spatula to shift them off the oven rack and back onto the stone. No matter the shape, it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States