Italian Bread Baked on a Pizza Stone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very easy recipie. Transfering to the stone takes practice but my family enjoyed it, especially with my pesto sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starship Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I didn't use a bread maker. I just put all those ingredients in a bowl and mixed then kneaded for about 5-8 minutes. Then let it rise for almost an hour. Then pushed down and made two loaves and let 'em rise for 30 minutes. My family loved it. Me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silverlining

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I have been looking for a good bread recipe and i have found it. I let it rise for almost two hours and then cooked them seperately, for my stone was not big enough. (my bread rose out not up) I was concerned that they had not risen enough becasue they did not get higher, but they were perfect when they came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I just loved the texture of this bread, a good example of Italian Bread. The only disappointment was the crust. I sprayed the crust 3 times during the first 7 minutes, for me usually results in a nice crusty crust. This seemed perfect when it came out of the oven but soon went soft. I used the sponge method, but nest time try the overnight to see if I get a better crust from that. Enjoyed the texture just need to experiment a little to get exactly the bread I require.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Did exactly as written, but mine fell down twice. It was still good flavored! I put some rosemary, salt and pepper and it was more like foccacia. I'm going to work on the rise again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I started this in my bread machine, & added an extra cup of flour- but could have also eliminated the 1/3 cup of water instead. I didn't have olive oil, I used 2 tbl of butter, and added 1 tbl. of snipped fresh rosemary. This bread came out perfect- nice & tender on the inside. A beautifully golden & shiny crust from the egg wash. My family raved about it! It was the first bread that I baked on my pizza stone, and won't be the last! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is best bread recipe I have ever made. The only change I did, was not to put the egg wash on it, therefore it became vegan. I did spritz the loaves 3 times with water in the first 10 minutes of cooking time. I may never buy store bread again. Thanks for sharing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Definately needs more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very nice, very easy. for people complaining about stickiness . . .making dough is often dependent on the moisture level in the air, which is why sometimes it's too dry, sometimes too wet . . .you may have to add liquid or flour depending on the weather where you live. it's been raining here for days, but weirdly enough my dough wasn't too wet or sticky. i did, however, oil a bowl and let it rise for the third time in there bc bf wanted to go to Costco in the middle of me making this recipe. so, that may have cut out some of the stickiness people are complaining about, although it wasn't that sticky when I took it out of the bread machine. I almost forgot to bake it on the pizza stone . . I was just going along, doing what I always do and put the bread on the cookie sheet to rise. Since I did that, I just pulled the bread off the cookie sheet with the silpat mat and put it on the stone that way. Worked just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States