Italian Bowknot Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Except for the butter and we add vanilla and rum extract. This is my dad's recipe. I have been making these for years and they are always a hit. Made these today for Christmas eve. Everyone loves them. Follow directions exactly!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Mine puffed up - not flat. I did refrigerate the dough overnight - could that have been the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I have been making these with my Italian mom for years as this was her favorite cookie. These keep well for weeks in kept in air tight containers which may be hard to find as these are large and fragile cookies. We did add flavorings, like vanilla, or anise or rum to enrich the flavor. We also used the pasta machine instead of rolling out, with 6 selections on the machine, we rolled to number 5, then cut them into strips and made a slit in the center pulling one end through the slot making a bowtie effect. Mom would roll and I would cut. We dusted with XXX sugar when cooled but did not use honey. Mom is gone but these cookies remind of her often and make them just in her honor. smokeygal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Just finised making these..Just like my mom used to make with the exception of the butter. Can't keep up with my family...I think they are eating them faster than I can fry them up...Thank you...they are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is a decent recipe. At my house, there were some additions to the recipe that strengthen the success of this fabulous cookie. A teaspoon of vanilla or orange extract will liven it up. Besdies the already noted input that the oil needs to be HOT, as hot as you can go without burning the oil, the cookies themselves should be thin. The thinnner you can get them, the better they will fry and the crisper, and less oily they will appear. While shopping at a local Italian market in San Diego, I came across a cute little cookie company, Cookies con Amore, that actually makes these in a variety of flavors. They did not have the honey, but they were REALLY close to what my Nonna used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
we may not all be bakers, and obviously even bakers make mistakes but the recipe is pretty well written. The key to these cookies is the temperature of your oil, I would suggest frying some test strips, but what do I know I'm obviously not a baker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Ican't believe that I finally found this recipe. My grandmother use to make these all the time but she called them ribbons. Had the recipe but direction were not very good. thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Apparently some of you are not bakers. You cannot drench a fried cookie in honey. This is a time consuming, and must have patience recipe. My family bakes them often, and they stay for days if stored in an airtight container. After the cookies come out of the fryer, drain on paper towels, then sift powdered sugar all over them. Drizzle the honey right before being served, not before you store them.Drizzle is the operative word. Try the recipe again. I had to make several batches before I got them right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
The reviews posted must not be from an Italian! This was a good recipe. The directions are just what I have been taught from my grandmother. If your cookies are not crisp then your oil isn't hot enough. If there not good the 2nd day then you haven't used air tight storage. To keep the cookies at there best you should wait until serving to put the honey on them. Oh and no this isn't a quick cookies to make. Plan on taking your time and know that you will be at this for a while. My only other suggestion is that you can cut the dough into dimonds and slice a slit in the middle and fold one side through the hole, then fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Glad this recipe worked for others. I had no luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States