Italian Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I was so impressed at how these turned out. They looked exactly like biscotti that you get in fancy coffee shops, and since I had never made them before, I was really pleased. This makes a big batch - 2 friends and I had a bake-fest before Christmas and we all got quite a good share out of it. I'll do this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Thank you! This recipe was wonderful. My husband and everyone at work enjoyed it. I used almond extract instead of anise extract. I put 2 teaspoons almond extract and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. I also added 1 cup of chopped chocolate chips. I dipped the final cookies in chocolate. They were great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This may or may not be a review of this recipe, because I changed it so much, but here goes. I used 8 ounces of butter and 4 ounces of good olive oil, left out the almonds, substituted almond extract for the anise and brushed the logs with beaten egg whites before baking. I also baked them longer the second time. I then made 4 separate logs with four different flavors. They were Cherry flavored dried cranberries, sweetened coconut flakes, walnuts, and cocoa powder (2 tsp)and chocolate chips. The cranberries were the best! This is a great base recipe -- and I will for sure make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I am getting so many compliments on my biscotti! From Italian people too!! I've made this recipe twice. At first you'll think the dough is too sticky but the large amount of butter in the recipe makes it easy to work with. Once I got to the point of adding flour I changed to a dough hook on my stand mixer. Without that, this could get tedious to mix. Excellent recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
These always turn out. The recipe is also forgiving. Have fun and try mixing in white chocolate and dried cranberry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This recipe was awesome. Very minimal work and my son could help me with the mixing. They are wonderful tasting and are a cookie I will continue to make year round. I toasted my sliced cookies for approx. 10 mins on each side. I don't care for anise but these were great. The anise taste was not overwelming. Great recipe Bernie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This is a very nice Biscotti recipe, wonderful for gift giving. I had my room mate knead the dough for me, I think the added man strength that went into the kneading process helped to make this recipe such a success. I used two teaspoons of licorice liqueur instead of the extract and only one teaspoon of vanilla extract, the taste is mild, not too sweet, with a melt in your mouth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Absolutely GORGEOUS!! I made it within seconds of reading about it, and made it in 15 minutes and left it to cook to the exact guidlines given and voila it was PERFECT, three minutes ago I tasted it for the first time and enjoyed it thouraghly with Coffee. Thank-you very much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This recipe actually makes 30 biscotti PER LOG- a total of 120! My count was more like 25 per log or 100 cookies per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This takes a little while to get the hang of it, however it is great. I gave them out as christmas goodie gifts and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States