Italian Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was my first time making biscotti. This recipe was simple to put together, and is absolutely delicious! Even my husband (who hates biscotti)loved these! I didn't have anise flavoring or almonds, so I substituted pecans. I made a simple cinnamon glaze to drizzle over it. (1/2 cup confec. sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 TBSP butter, 2 TBSP milk). Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was great! The texture is a little bit more tender than some teeth breaking biscotti I've had before, but I found it to be very pleasant. Can't wait to make this for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I love these! The very first kind of biscotti's I've ever made! They turned out great! Yummy! = D I made them for my dance class, and family, they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Absolutely love this recipe so easy! I also melt chocolate almond bark and dip the flat side of them in the chocolate. HUGE HIT - and if i want to get fancy i melt white chocolate or white choc. almond bark and fill a squeeze bottle to make fancy white drizzles over the dark chocolate. I take them to baby/bridal showers all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I made this recipe to the tee.. RAVE reviews..even the people who didn't like biscotti loved this! Very buttery.. which was probably what set it apart from other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penrose715

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was my first time making bicotti, and unfortunately I was a little disappointed. They were not hard and crunchy, s they did not soak up much coffee. The taste is good, but more like a shortbread, not like boscotti should taste. I would definately toast the almonds, they taste a little raw in the cookie. These are however, easy to make and are palatable. But I will keep looking for another recipe that really knocks our socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This is great. The texture is perfect and It's easy to change around to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I followed the recipe but added more almonds (toasted) about 1 cup of slivered and subsituted almond flavoring for the anise and added the anise seed (1 tbsp). Don't be discouraged because the dough is sticky, it will bake up nicely. These were not the rock hard type I've eaten before, thankfully, but when toasted are firm and dunkable. I increased the second baking to 10 minutes which was about 1 minute too long, but it was in a convection oven. My husband loves these and he is very picky when it comes to biscotti. Not too sweet. I'll be baking these alot! Just watch the second toasting time. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have tried many Biscotti recipes and none seemed to turn out as good as my late mother in laws. This recipe is actually easier and much better taste. Works great with pecans too. Raylene Italiano Ellwood City, PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a surprisingly simple, classic recipe for italian biscotti that any novice could make, and any expert would be proud to produce. I like biscotti a little thicker than average so I cut them into one inch slices for the second baking. As I had two trays to cook, I also raised the heat to 400 degrees and toasted them for 15 minutes so they were medium brown and very crunchy. Warm with coffee, they were so good I baked a batch to send to my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States