Italian Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
So pretty, with a fine texture and gentle flavoring. Like other reviewers, I lined the baking sheets with parchment and swapped 1/3 of the flour for whole wheat. My resulting dough was too soft to knead, so I simply floured my hands and 'shaped' the loaves instead. Following more advice; I let the loaves stand for 5 minutes before slicing (it firmed them up a bit) and stood the slices up for the second baking (avoiding the need to flip each cookie). This is an outstanding recipe - Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Delicious biscotti, great recipe and directions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made these tonight. One batch with craisins and another with mini morsels. Ran out of Anise so used orange extract - when it comes to Biscotti - Anise makes it truly better. The logs were really sticky so I had to use extra flour to knead the dough. Overall: these were really good typical Italian Biscotti - not too sweet nor to chewy. Will make these many times over but with Anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
After taking the loaves out of the oven, let them cool down for at least 15 minutes before cutting and after the final baking, turn the oven off and leave the cookies in the oven to completely cool, with the oven door ajar. This will make them nice and crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
pretty good, basic recipe. It was easy to manage the dough. It didnt spread much in oven. Next time will try to add something different like cranberries... Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Awesome Biscottis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe. I always make these for Christmas gifts. Here are my favorite variations: 1.Add pistachios and craisins to the dough and (after baking and completely cooling)dip bottoms in melted white chocolate. 2. Add pecans and grated orange peel and dip bottoms in melted dark chocolate. 3. Add sliced almonds and toasted coconut and dip bottoms in milk chocolate. I put two of each flavor in a clear cellophane bag and tie with a ribbon. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe. A little time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Great and easy! I halved the recipe, and had to add an additional cup of flour (4c total) to be able to handle the dough with my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe! The butter makes it more tender than a traditional biscotti and I like the large batch it makes because they are gobbled up so fast around our house. Here's a tip if you don't like slicing the logs: My non-baker husband while trying to help me finish the task of slicing the baked logs picked up the metal spatula next to the pan, instead of walking over to get a knife and I thought for sure he was going to smash the cookies to crumbs but the spatula worked beautifully. It cuts cleaner than a knife, doesn't leave the crumbs a knife does and is easier to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States