Italian Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
amazing recipe. I too used beef Stock (from carton or home made..not can---too-salty) I posted another recipe to this So sorry, I thought it was my own tweek note to original recipe. i am new to this pro membership.I did add Basil ( 2t. dried) to the rub and pinch of garlic powder plus 2t. Worcestershire sauce to juice before roasting. This does work in a crock pot, but I like roasting first to give more flavor...then reheating in crock pot. As others have said before me ROAST THE BEEF RARE FIRST and then cooling in fridge is key to getting a nice thin slice. Be sure to chill COMPLETELY . This chef KNOWS what he is doing (SO did Lorraine Pierce so follow their cooking method(roasting) for the better results. Next time I might try adding dry red Italian wine ( maybe 1/2 cup or so) to the beef stock. Has anyone tried that way? Made this again ( still did not add wine yet, as it is too good to mess with much. HOWEVER both times it came out too salty. I was able to correct this. I caramelized 2 large onions in unsalted butter. Then added 1 qt of UNsalted beef STOCK from a carton (not broth)I brought this up to just under a boil, added about 8 or 9 fresh rosemary leaves,( stems removed)and simmered for 15 min. or so. THEN drained off the onions in a mesh strainer, (let drain 10 -15 min over a bowl)and added just the juice to the other juices. If your beef juice is not too salty, then skip this step. OR do it if you want to have extra juice for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is truly an amazing recipe for Chicago-style Italian beef!! The best for us. Very true to the Chicago flavor, of course!! This is the flavor of Italian beefs I've been searching for. The search is over. Pretty easy as well. Definitely use a meat slicer to slice very thin. Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This weekend we had a "SANDWICH WAR SHOWDOWN"!! Meet The competitors: Italian Beef Sandwiches vs. The Munroe Melt. Italian Beef Sandwich 3 stars The Munroe Melt 5 stars. Originally from Illinois, never tried this Chicago fan treat. Both hubby and I "it's good" but was bland and needed more spunk. Ended up adding melted muenster cheese, roasted green peppers and onions, plus chopped up Giardiniera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Goodness, this is a good recipe--super simple and oh, so easy. The ONLY thing I changed was the time I had to do it in. Unfortunately, I didn't notice that I needed to let the cooked roast chill overnight, so once it was finished roasting I put in the freezer for 3 hours. It seemed to work. The meat wasn't frozen, but it was well-chilled and easy to slice thin. FYI: for those who have sensitive tongues (like my Midwestern mother and mother-in-law), this recipe, as prepared, can be a tad spicy. I'm sure you could halve the amount of red pepper and it would still make tasty sandwiches. However, for the rest of us, it was spot-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Just made this the other day. Wow! Loved the crushed pepper in it. Gave it a nice kick. I put a roast in crockpot with all spices added on top. Slow cooked for 6 hours. Put in fridge overnight with liquid. Took it out next day to remove excess fat. Sliced up beef very thin (a little messy) and put it back in dish and warmed up. Again, WOW! This will be the recipe of choice (and I have made many different versions of Italian Beef). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
love it , i used the slow cooker it was really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was not bad. This was more like a french dip sandwich. It needed a little basil and italian seasoning as well as the green bell pepper slices and giardiniera. Once I tweaked that, it really enhanced the final product to a more authentic recipe. For a french dip sandwich though, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Ok well I didn't have the time (didn't plan ahead) so I took the meat frozen and stuck it in the crock pot with the water and seasonings (used garlic powder in place of fresh, in a hurry!) and let it go for a good 4-5 hours. Sliced it as thin as possible and stuck it back in the juices for a bit. It was absolutely incredible! A bit on the salty side but will def make this again. I can only imagine if this short cut method was sooo good that this original recipe is even better! Will plan ahead next time and do it the "right way". :) (PS I too am from chicago and this def hit the spot!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Better than the recipe my mom used, this one has a little kick in the rub, and the flavor is unbeatable. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this in the oven and it was delicious but want to use crock pot today. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States