Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
these are a great little anisette biscuit, but due to the amt. of baking powder stated in the recipe, I can't rate it higher. i only used 2 tbsp powder and that was plenty! Didn't have extract so ground 2 tbsp. anise seeds in my coffee grinder. rolled them in granulated sugar and baked. 8 min. was perfect in my oven. dough easy to work with. my dough was dingy gray color d/t the anise seed and oil but they bake up just like the stated pic; nice and white. very good flavor and not sickening sweet. fresh out of the oven, you can taste that baking powder but the flavor does mellow without any aftertaste. Can fit alot on one sheet and makes alot using pampered chef small size cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Just finished backing these. They were quick, easy and tasty. Made using lemon extract, My tip: I used a very small scoop something like an old fashioned Ice Cream Scoop that I picked up years ago. This way I got an equal size portion for each cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is my Italian grandmother's recipe, to a T (except for the baking power typo, of course - 3 teaspoons works perfectly :) We call them "Sciamellis" in my family. The key with these cookies is that YOU SHOULD NOT BROWN THEM. If they turn golden on top, they're overdone. When you just start to see a teeny bit of golden color at the base of the cookies, get them out of the oven! Almond, anise, vanilla, lemon...all varieties taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Love this cookie. 11 minutes seems perfect for bake time. I've been using an old recipe for years and it somehow just changed over time and the cookies were just boring. This is great. Very nice texture, not too cakey not too dry. Wonderful understated flavor - just great... I made up a batch for this Easter sunday and made different colors for the icing. They look like a bunch of beautiful Easter eggs. DELICIOUS... Thanks for this recipe. Also makes several dozen if you don't make them too big. Nice... I changed the baking powder amount to 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I adjusted the baking powder to 6 tsp, not tablespoons like the recipe says and they were incredible!!! It must be a typo. They were so moist and cakey with just the right amount of anise flavor. The frosting dries quickly after dipping the cookies, so be ready with the sprinkles if you're using them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Unique cookie. husband loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDILAUX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
These are mine and my son's favorite italian cookies, BUT they came out absolutely horrible. I will be honest and tell you that I substituted the anise extract for sambuca liquer, if this was the culprit then that would explain it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
These cookies were easy to make and tasty too. I think maybe a little dry, and almost like there was something missing. I put a lot more almond extract in, b/c i like that stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Very, very good. I made these with lemon extract yesterday after I couldn't get to the store to get anise and WOW! They were great. Two things though--everyone else is right about the baking powder. I put in 2TB and think that I may put even less next time (hence why only 4 stars). The texture is cakelike and the taste is less sweet and is almost between a biscuit and a cookie. These were DEVOURED at my sister's bridal shower today. Also, I wasn't sure that kids would like them because they're less sweet, but I had to stop my nephew when I saw him hit about the dozen mark and package the rest up for him to eat later at home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I was a tad unsure about using so much baking powder, so I cut it to 4 tbsp. and the cookies still turned out FABULOUS. They needed to bake a bit longer than the recipe says, but otherwise it was smooth-sailing with this recipe. I made a batch that were vanilla flavored using vanilla extract too for the family members that don't care for anise. YUM!! Would be good with lemon or cherry flavoring as well. These are definitely a part of my Christmas cookie list (and year-round baking list) from now on, so soft and yummy, great icing too!! Pretty to dress up with a little food coloring and crystal sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYTHMANIAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States