Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I was skeptical of this recipe, but it makes the best cookie. not like cornbread in texture as one reviewer suggested. i DID cut the baking powder to one heaping tablespoon. found that ten minutes was about the right oven time. thanks. this is a delicious cookie for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
These cookies were SoooGood!! I thought it was to easy that they wouldn't come out good.They were Great!!! used 3ts.baking powder. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Very good cookies. I used 6 teaspoons of baking powder like the others said. I usually dip cookies in icing when they are cool so that the icing doesn't get absorbed into the cookie and stays on top. I baked them for 8 minutes but they were a bit undone in the center. I kinda like them that way but not necessarily good for serving. Next time I will try baking them for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Just like mom used to make them! FYI PETERRE: as a teen, I also made the mistake of using baking soda instead of baking powder, it really doesn't work, but my brother still ate them! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
These were quit lovely. Mine turned out more like sweetened corn bread. I didn't have any anise, so I used vanilla and almond extract. I also used self rising flour with 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder. They were quite lovely. I ate way to many, then later passed out from carb overload. :) :( :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
A number of reviewers have commented on how "6 tablespoons baking powder" seemed like way too much. Even though I'm not an experienced baker, I too thought that might be the case, but I nevertheless made the recipe as is. The recipe worked, but since I don't think I've ever had these kind of cookies, I'm not sure how close they came to the "real" thing. Nor did I particularly note the "bad aftertaste" supposed to be caused by this amount of baking powder, as described by one of those reviewers. I did share the cookies with two sets of people, and they said they liked them (unless they were just being polite). Myself, I'm not too fond of anise, so I thought the cookies were just okay. I baked some of the cookies for 8 minutes, and some for 9. The cookies came out very light and fluffy, and somewhat delicate. I'd never iced cookies before, but gingerly held them upside-down in the icing to coat the top, and let the excess drip back into the icing bowl. I don't know if there's another technique for icing cookies, but mine worked pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This one's a keeper for sure! Loved them...brought these to work and made everyone's day :-) ! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRADY'S LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
These didn't taste all that wonderful out of the oven, but for some reason were DELICOUS after they sat a few days. Give them a chance. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
A great and unique cookie recipe. Everyone loved them. They are very light and fluffy with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
these are a great little anisette biscuit, but due to the amt. of baking powder stated in the recipe, I can't rate it higher. i only used 2 tbsp powder and that was plenty! Didn't have extract so ground 2 tbsp. anise seeds in my coffee grinder. rolled them in granulated sugar and baked. 8 min. was perfect in my oven. dough easy to work with. my dough was dingy gray color d/t the anise seed and oil but they bake up just like the stated pic; nice and white. very good flavor and not sickening sweet. fresh out of the oven, you can taste that baking powder but the flavor does mellow without any aftertaste. Can fit alot on one sheet and makes alot using pampered chef small size cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States