Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Scrumptious! I don't like licorice flavor, so I used almond extract instead. I'm thinking of trying these again with lemon extract. I found these cookies to be easy to make and they use oil not margarine or butter which is another plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These came out great, and tasted like the cookies I grew up with. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Like Grandma used to make, for sure. Some extra steps here, but all well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These were fun and easy to make. I helped bake quite a few cookies with my 13year old neice, who gave these out as gifts. These anisette are light and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I really cannot understand how this got five stars. They weren't good at all! Maybe it's because I just don't like black liccorice flavor, and that's why, or maybe my anise extract went bad, but my mom and I did not finish them. I followed others advice with the baking powder, however, they looked like little biscuits. I love pizzelles, so I thought I would like these, but unfortunately, they weren't good. I wish I could review differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. Has a nice texture to the cookie, better than the recipe I had. Only change I would make next time is to use 2 Tbl of anise instead of 1 for more flavor in the cookie. This is a keeper!! Thanks Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Wow, I love Anise Cookies, and used to follow a recipe from my Grandmother. She is no longer with us, and unfortunately her recipe wasn't exact (more like a pinch of this, etc) and they were always tough. I found this recipe and all I can say is WOW. They are light and moist and perfect! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These cookies a delicous. Even my husband said they were good without me asking if he like them. I think next time I will try them with almond extract, and maybe lemon extract. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe...our family calls them "Jeannettes." I used 2 Tablespoons of baking powder to correct the typo (6 teaspoons is what I think the author meant) and they came out just right. Keep in mind that u want these cookies to "crack" and that is why u need more baking powder than in a usual cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I did not care for this recipe at all. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States