Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good cookies. I love the anise flavor. The only thing I don't like about them , they are plain looking. So with that in mind I added nutmeg to the icing and that not only gave it an extra yummy flavor a bit of color. I can't say how much I added I just added until the frosting was speckly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Loved these cookies. Only thing I did differently was that I added 1 T. anise seed and shaped these into different shapes like my grandmother used to do. Otherwise, recipe is perfect. This is a wonderful dough and so easy to work with. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is an amazing cookie! I loved it. Instead of all anise extract, I added a little bit of anise oil...The anise is not too strong and just right. Crumbly and not too sweet. My brother enjoyed it and he's not a fan of anise flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This cookie was a rel hit with my husband and children. A very nice tasting cookie, followed the directions and turned out great. Perfect amount of icing too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
great cookie.. very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very Good recipe for Anisette Cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARA428

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delish!! made exactly as posted :) perrrrrrrfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I have been making Italian anise cookies for 30 years, but haven't been happy with the recipe. I decided to try this one and it's very good, thus the reason for 4 stars. I did encounter a problem, and hopefully someone can help. I made two (separate) batches, followed the recipe to a "T", and with both recipes I got the same result--the dough did not want to stay together, in the bowl, and it was very difficult to keep them together as balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious! I toned down the frosting a bit - used about half the anise because it was too strong for us. Baked about 9 minutes. Will be adding to my list of Christmas cookies each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly (looks like the previous typo was corrected to 1 tablespoon baking powder, which I followed)....but was slightly disappointed. The anise flavor is absent from the cookie (I left some without frosinting because my son does not like frosting). The only anise flavor comes from the icing. However, the texture is nice; not too dry, just soft & slightly cakey. I think next time I'll just make using almond or lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States