Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I really love these cookies. I used 3 tsp. of baking powder instead of the 6 tbsp., as one reviewer suggested. When I first made them, the dough was crumbly. When I made them again, I used a little more water, which helped a lot. I also used more anisette extract, which made a difference. But the topping on the cake was sprinkling nonpareils on top (after a generous amount of icing), to make them colorful and visually appetizing. My friends and family LOVED them. One of my friends said that they were even better than the ones he got in Boston's North End!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My2CatsR2Cool

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I lost my grandmothers recipe for these cookies, but they were always a childhood favorite. I was so happy to find this recipe, they tasted exactly like I remembered. Just the right balance of Anise, I however like others used only 2 Tbsp of baking powder and had excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I have made these cookies for the Christmas holiday two years in a row..and they are a big family hit. Need to make these year-round. Great with a cup of coffee in the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I have made this recipe now for the second year in a row for Christmas and I have followed the recipe exactly. Everyone that has tried these say they are the best they have ever tasted. Do not alter the recipe in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Niles, Ohio, USA
Photo by SAVANNAH0410
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was looking for a good anise cookie, for Christmas and this fit the bill. It is a good tasting cookie, and the icing is sooo good. It has a nice strong anise taste to it, which sweetens the cookie up perfectly. I did have to double the icing as this recipe made around 4 dozen cookies. The baking time was off for me, mine had to stay 14 minutes and were just a light golden brown on bottom. At the 8 minute time mark they were still raw in the center. I used only a heaping tablespoon of baking powder and it worked fine. Very good recipe! Thanks :) edited to add: I am now changing this to 5 stars as this got even better with age. Perfect blend of flavoring! edited again to add: I have used this recipe a ton of times which is saying a lot ( I constantly am looking for something better)...I find this cookie delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Very easy to put together. Kids loved them! I was very surprised by that since they had never eaten anise. 8 minutes is no where near done. More like 12 minutes is great cause then they have a little crisp to them. I used the frosting and made red and green for the holidays. If the hubby likes when he gets home, will most likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I was skeptical of this recipe, but it makes the best cookie. not like cornbread in texture as one reviewer suggested. i DID cut the baking powder to one heaping tablespoon. found that ten minutes was about the right oven time. thanks. this is a delicious cookie for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
These cookies were SoooGood!! I thought it was to easy that they wouldn't come out good.They were Great!!! used 3ts.baking powder. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Very good cookies. I used 6 teaspoons of baking powder like the others said. I usually dip cookies in icing when they are cool so that the icing doesn't get absorbed into the cookie and stays on top. I baked them for 8 minutes but they were a bit undone in the center. I kinda like them that way but not necessarily good for serving. Next time I will try baking them for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Just like mom used to make them! FYI PETERRE: as a teen, I also made the mistake of using baking soda instead of baking powder, it really doesn't work, but my brother still ate them! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States